Quantcast

Exploring other options (Jobs)

ridiculous

Turbo Monkey
Jan 18, 2005
MD / NoVA
So there's and interesting job fair coming up next week that Ive been thinking about attending. Its a job fair for cleared professionals, one that my current company will most likely be attending. Im just going to see what else is out there and see if I can land a comparable job in the area I would like to live in.

All of my contract obligations have been satisfied years ago, apt. lease is up, etc. The timing for this could not be more perfect. This is my first time attempting switch jobs since college and realize that this stuff happens all the time, but can I get in trouble with my current company for doing this? Ive heard of companies parsing through monster.com etc to check on their current employees, even terminating them. Whats up?
:confused:

Serial Midget

Al Bundy
Jun 25, 2002
Fort of Rio Grande
Don't take the step unless you're fully committed to leaving your current company. I doubt you'd be terminated but I also doubt the step would lead to a promotion.

ridiculous

Turbo Monkey
Jan 18, 2005
MD / NoVA
dang. I've been out about 3.5 years and am on my 3rd job
The job I have started out great but the luster is gone. Im not being challenged and im getting dumber by the day working on the stuff Im doing. I am an engineer, I used to design, but now it feels like all i do is paperwork. Add to the fact that living in Baltimore is finally catching up with me to this and im ready to go or at least consider other options.

A job a year doesn't sound that bad. I had an ex that in 2 years worked for 6 different companies. Crazy ass fashion market.