Quantcast

Fabrication Monkeys - I want a goddam MIG

eaterofdog

ass grabber
Sep 8, 2006
Central Florida
I'm looking to buy a MIG welder and wanted to get some input. I have some previous experience stick welding and want to get back into it with MIG.

I've already learned the "don't buy a small machine" lesson and I want something decently sized and not too expensive too set up for aluminum.

I'm thinking of picking up a Millermatic 180. Infinite adjustment, autoset for steel, wire gun is only 200 for aluminum. Seems like it would be good for my needs.

What do you think?

buildyourown

Turbo Monkey
Feb 9, 2004
South Seattle
What kind of stuff are you making?
MIG machines don't weld aluminum worth a damn. Yeah, they will stick things together, but not in a structurally sound way.

The only advantages MIG offers over TIG is entry price, speed, and when doing out of position stuff.
If you can swing an extra grand, then you only need to worry about the last one.
And you can learn to push a pedal with your knee/elbow/butt

kazlx

Patches O'Houlihan
Aug 7, 2006
Tustin, CA
I have the Miller 180 Autoset. I like it a lot and it does everything I have wanted it too so far. I'm planning on building a fab table here shortly out of 1/4" 4x4s, so it should get a good workout. I think it maxes out around 5/16". I think for just a general MIG, it works great and the next steps up are quite a bit more expensive.

Edit: FWIW I have heard the spool gun for Al is a huge PITA and is more trouble than it's worth, which is the main reason I haven't bought one. Everything I have read is that you need a pretty good sized machine to MIG Al and the 180 kind of teeters on the fence.

Just picked this up Tuesday...Syncrowave 250 w/cooler. Can't wait to play with it this weekend.

Last edited:

descente

Monkey
Jul 30, 2010
Sandy Eggo