Quantcast

First road race

COmtbiker12

Turbo Monkey
Dec 17, 2003
Colorado Springs
There's a road race coming up in Salida Colorado that I'd like to do. For SM4 it would be 60miles on a 12mile course, and my friend who races 4 told me that its really hard (I'm fairly new to road riding) but I dunno, I really wanna do it and challenge myself. OR on Sunday (day after rr) there's a Crit that would be fun. I've never done a Crit either so it'd be new experiences all around. However if I did crit I'd probably race the citizen's category which would make things a lot easier for my noobi-ness but at the same time I realy want a challenge. I dunno what to do. :p Any suggestions or advice for a newbie wanting to start racing?

Serial Midget

Al Bundy
Jun 25, 2002
Fort of Rio Grande
Crits are dangerous... of the two I would definately go for the road race. If you just want to measure yourself and see where you stack up - look for a time trial, I think those are the most fun. :)

GravityFreakTJ

leg shavin roadie
Jul 14, 2003
at a road race near you
Don't be fooled into thinking the Crit would be easy.Like Midget said,they are dangerous and def a challenge,but i love doin them.Got one tomorrow and it's supposed to be the hottest day of the year,98* and 9873656% humidity :dead: .Whichever you do just have fun

DRB

unemployed bum
Oct 24, 2002
Watchin' you. Writing it all down.
Crits are insanely hard and insanely scary. In Citz or 5 there are very good odds that you'll get taken out by someone.

In either case, don't be discouraged but there is a huge probability you are going straight out the back as soon as the race starts.

COmtbiker12

Turbo Monkey
Dec 17, 2003
Colorado Springs
DRB said:
Crits are insanely hard and insanely scary. In Citz or 5 there are very good odds that you'll get taken out by someone.

In either case, don't be discouraged but there is a huge probability you are going straight out the back as soon as the race starts.