Quantcast

Flash Bainite Steel - is this relevant for biking?

Sounds great, curious what happens when it's welded.
Me too. I'm a welder and this sounds really interesting. I'd love to start making some stainless frames, I'm a stainless TIG welder, and this sounds like it could be the new purple ano.

This stuff really sounds promising. If you could triple-butt this stuff for a DH frame, I could see sub 6lb frames with shock. And imagine the ride.

buildyourown

Turbo Monkey
Feb 9, 2004
South Seattle
What a bunch of marketing BS.
Reading between the lines, it doesn't do anything that high-end steel doesn't already do. It might be cheaper, but the steel in a bike only costs about $10. It costs another $200 to roll it into tubes.

Lelandjt

adorbs
Apr 4, 2008
Breckenridge, CO/Lahaina,HI
This stuff really sounds promising. If you could triple-butt this stuff for a DH frame, I could see sub 6lb frames with shock. And imagine the ride.
It's denser than Ti so it would have to be stronger and stiffer to make a lighter frame. I don't see it resulting in lighter frames than current alloy offerings or what carbon is promising. Cheaper maybe.

heavy metal

Monkey
Mar 31, 2011
HI
Flash 4130 at 1900MPa and 9% elongation exceeds titanium-6Al-4V's strength to weight ratio making it pound per pound stronger at only 56% the volume. Flash4130 is just 10% the cost of Ti-64.

"Off the shelf" plate and tubing can be made into Flash Bainite. Triple the strength of Chrome Moly, Flash 4130 is pound for pound 2X stronger than the best aluminums. If you are "lightweighting" structure with aluminum, Flash Bainite will do a better job at less weight and lower cost.
Seems as though the addition of Bainite in the micro-structure provides added ductility to help maintain the steel's strength when being thin formed. It would seem perfect for bike frames which benefit heavily in using a material that can remain strong after being rolled into thin tubes and bent/worked.