Quantcast

Fontana Dam DH Aug. 1st

willyj

Chimp
Jun 2, 2008
HIGH COUNTRY
I think i am doing it since its $5 and since im new to races i figure it will be a good experience, but ive been told my DH bike might be slower than my hardtail?

Jeremy R

<b>x</b>
Nov 15, 2001
behind you with a snap pop
I am posting this just for future reference in case someone is searching about this race for next year:

The course they use for the Fontana Dam Jam is not a DH course.
It is a Super D course. The promoter said straight up that he made it
"XC friendly" because that is who races in his normal series.
There were only 4 riders on Saturday who did the course in under 3:40,
and the course had about 1:40 of DH in it. Do the math on that one.
The Icycle course was all DH and it was 1:30 to 1:40 I believe.
This isn't some complaint rant by me as I have been going to Fontana long enough that I know what to expect either way, but I am posting because
there were a bunch of first time racers at this race, and I heard alot of,
"Is this what Dh racing is like normally?"
And the answer to that is hell No.
That course had more pedalling than the Dark Mountain Super D by far.
I get what the promoter is trying to do, so maybe next year they will call it a super d race so new racers will know what to expect.

And on a positive note, at all of the Southeast races this year, I am seeing lots of riders showing up that are 1st time Dh racers and that is great.

parsons

Chimp
Jun 12, 2008
Asheville, NC
I have to agree. I feel sorry for those 'first-timmers' to the sport that traveled all the way from Florida with dh bikes to find out that half of the course went up hill.

I miss Pluto!

Last edited:

DaveBethea

Monkey
Jul 22, 2009
Daytona Beach,FL