Quantcast

Food Is Dangerous!

Well, i was at work today, at the catering co. i work at, chopping veggies and i accidently untucked my fingers and i payed the price. My sharp knife got me on the tip of the middle finger :thumb: and almost took it off. It was about 1/4" fromt the tip and almost straigth across accept for 1/16" of skin holding it on, so i finished choopping then left to go get stitches. Took about 6 or 7 so nothing major, and getting my finger numbed up was worth the hole thing. They decided to give me a tetnis shot as well, whatever they want to do i dont really cur none boy.

laura

DH_Laura
Jul 16, 2002
Glitter Gulch
ah the glory that is prep work. i love it but the tipes of every single one of my fingers has a scar over it from being cut off. luckily, i've never had stitches. came close onee time when i had a run in with a french mandolin while slicing potatoes. yeow.

the BIG cheese

The STUFF
Feb 26, 2002
stick red
Never again will I work as a prep cook. Laura is right...potatos (especailly sweet potatos) will make you want to do a different job, like roofing or ditch digging.

I was once training someone and I cut myself on a sweet potato. I told the girl to finish up for me while I took care of it. I came back and she had cut herself also. But what she didn't tell me was that she was a hemophiliac. After looking at her finger she promptly collapsed and started siezing. I ran into the restaurant looking for the manager yelling "She's dying, She's dying!" About ten customers ran to the kitchen to gawk.

ill get pictures of the stitches and stuff, I was bleeding, but i wrapped it in towels until i finished, then left, it was fun. Ive cut myself on a mandolin, usually there sharp enough not to hurt too bad. Ive nicked my finger onm the garbage disposale, that hurt a bit because its really not all that sharp... :nope:

BMXman

I wish I was Canadian
Sep 8, 2001
Victoria, BC
slalomrider1 said: