Quantcast

Forced upgrade...warning: contains shims

Sandwich

Pig my fish!
Staff member
May 23, 2002
borcester rhymes
So I had a mostly great day of riding my DHX equipped Sunday yesterday, but towards the end of the day my shock starting acting terribly...it had been making squishing noises and later there would be no damping then it would engage after half an inch....and slooowly at that. I'm pretty sure this is a clear sign of cavitation. I must have ridden it with the air pressure too low. Earlier in the day I had reset the shock to the specifications in the Sunday page, and it was working great despite the noise. Previously I had been a little disappointed with the DHX's performance but increasing the air pressure and ramping up the bottom out seemed to help.

I have no experience with shock rebuilds, and I have relatively limited access to tools; no vice and whatever tools/wrenches I have available. I've read as much as I can on rebuilding the DHX but I'm not positive that I can bring it back to 100%. The shock was rebuilt by fox before I bought it a month or so ago.

Anyways, my question is, should I buy some shock oil, get all pumped up and try the rebuild myself, or should I use this opportunity to try and grab a clapped out 5th element and send it to Avalanche to have it rebuilt and tuned to my bike weight and style($200) then sell the Fox as is? Or Push the Fox ($200)?

I'm not much of a tinkerer but I'm not completely hamfisted either. I tend to like my shocks "set and forget" rather than maximum adjustability.

bizutch

Delicate CUSTOM flower
Dec 11, 2001
Over your shoulder whispering
Have the basic shock tune by Push but keep in mind that you're talking about a tiny part with obvious long term wear and most likely contact points internally that are probably way outside strict tolerances. So no matter what you do to the thing, unless they're ALL brand new guts, it is a patch on a worn out shell of a shock.