Quantcast

Forming a Building/Trail Group

ggriffin80

Chimp
Jun 29, 2009
I am trying to organize a group to do some building in the winchester/front royal area this winter. I would like to see an area with some shore style stuff go in somewhere, but I do not know where. I am new to the east coast, which is why I am trying to form a group. I figure the more people we can get involved the stronger we can make a pitch for building on forest land or some other area. Also, I haven't really checked out too much of the terrain, so any input would be awesome.
In addition to some forest work, it would be sweet to get a pump track or dedicated mountain bike jump line put in somewhere accessible for kids and people in the community. Let me know if you could be interested. Thanks for reading.

S

seespotendo

Hey, Great idea. I live in Front Royal whenever I'm not at college in Lynchburg, but during winter break I'd be glad to come out.

-Nick

Matt 891

Chimp
Apr 14, 2008
Salem, VA
I would guess that there already is an established trail work group in your area. 100 percent sure that the group is XC oriented but joining in and helping work on existing trails is the first step to getting stuff put in that is more your style.

It might take awhile but thats how it goes. Roanoke recently gots its first bit of legal Freeride-ish type stuff thanks to the interest stirred up by the Freeride group.

skatetokil

Turbo Monkey
Jan 2, 2005
DC/Bluemont VA
Hey, just saw this. It's still winter, right?

There are jumps in Winchester, never been but I'm told they're pretty big. Definitely going to need some work when all this stuff melts.

There is also the BMX track off 81.