Quantcast

Fox 40rc2 (2008) sticky, jamming.... Something.

SebringMGB

Monkey
Feb 6, 2004
Washington
Hey all... Just picked up a new used bike with a 2008 Fox 40rc2. It is in need of some love.... I have no experience with this fork, but here are the symptoms:

-Leaking wiper seal on the right leg.
-Fork feels fairly smooth when standing over the bike, pulling the front brake and compressing the fork, however when you get on the bike, stand up on the pedals and try and compress it, it essentially gets stuck a couple inches into its travel. Not like its jammed, but it feels ultra sticky. Seems like it has to do with the force being applied to the fork at an angle is causing this, as it doesnt behave this way when you are using the handlebars to compress it, rather than the pedals. It also feels like the rebound and compression is dialed up to 11, even with both backed all the way off.

Can anyone advise as to what parts need replacing based on the info given? Also, are those parts able to be replaced on this fork without a slew of specialized tools? Thanks in advance!

Nick

My name is Nick
Sep 21, 2001
where the trails are
When was it last serviced?
My guess is the damper bladder is toast, which is probably not available any more.

Have your shop order you a seal kit and the new inverted rc2 damper which drops right in. Vast improvement.

jonKranked

Detective Dookie
Nov 10, 2005
media blackout
When was it last serviced?
My guess is the damper bladder is toast, which is probably not available any more.

Have your shop order you a seal kit and the new inverted rc2 damper which drops right in. Vast improvement.
second the service. probably want to upgrade to the SKF seals for the lower dust wipers as well.

FWIW avalanche also makes a damper cartridge for the 40. my 40 is the same year yours and i put the avy cart in, and i have been very pleased with it.

SebringMGB

Monkey
Feb 6, 2004
Washington