Quantcast

Garmin Edge Users?

Serial Midget

Al Bundy
Jun 25, 2002
Fort of Rio Grande
I am looking to replace my 20 year old Ergo Brain. It's dead. I have been using my Garnin Fenix5 for 2 years and I like it. My basics are speed, cadence and HR so thinking about the budget Edge 130, also thinking about 530 because of all features. Most likely would not use on mountain trails but would probably use on local "fitness" XC trails. What is your experience? Do you use the enhanced features or just the basic ones? Do you use a VO2 ap?

Not looking at other brands, I've had good experience with Garmin watches.

cecil

Turbo Monkey
Jun 3, 2008
with the voices in my head
I have had the 830 for about a month I like it because I get work calls after hours and I can screen them through the device and send a respond text without stopping on the trail, it records your air time on your jumps it's a touch screen and waaaaay more accurate than a phone

I was riding with a couple I know and their milage was about 2 miles more than my phone

Serial Midget

Al Bundy
Jun 25, 2002
Fort of Rio Grande
I have had the 830 for about a month I like it because I get work calls after hours and I can screen them through the device and send a respond text without stopping on the trail, it records your air time on your jumps it's a touch screen and waaaaay more accurate than a phone

I was riding with a couple I know and their milage was about 2 miles more than my phone
Some reviews say the touch screen is buggy, have you had any issues?

6thElement

Schrodinger's Immigrant
Jul 29, 2008
I just upgraded my wife from a 3 1/2 year old 520 to a 530 and myself from an 8 year old 800 to an 830 a couple of weeks ago.

Both seems really good, I did put a glass screen protector on both, so that might impact my touch screen slightly. I may change to a thinner plastic one if it bugs me too much as swiping sideways in gloves sometimes just does the tap menu instead.