Quantcast

Garmin hack

eaterofdog

ass grabber
Sep 8, 2006
Central Florida
Ransomware lol. Employees are so damn stupid. The only way to (hopefully) stop shit like this is to lock down the computer hard. You hire people who can do one thing sufficiently well and they are usually idiots otherwise.

mykel

closer to Periwinkle
Apr 19, 2013
sw ontario canada
Ransomware lol. Employees are so damn stupid. The only way to (hopefully) stop shit like this is to lock down the computer hard. You hire people who can do one thing sufficiently well and they are usually idiots otherwise.
When I played with firewalls for a living, you better believe that shit was locked down hard.

I got so much "unofficial" flack because people could not play games or listen to streaming music "at lunch" etc etc.

But between me and the GroupPolicy guys, we were able to keep on top of it.
(mostly :rolleyes: )

I think @canadmos is now fighting the good fight.

Jm_

sled dog's bollocks
Jan 14, 2002
AK
When I played with firewalls for a living, you better believe that shit was locked down hard.

I got so much "unofficial" flack because people could not play games or listen to streaming music "at lunch" etc etc.

But between me and the GroupPolicy guys, we were able to keep on top of it.
(mostly :rolleyes: )

I think @canadmos is now fighting the good fight.
The problem is half the damn software developed for us doesn't work with all the restrictions they put on our computers. It's a never ending cycle of stuff that doesn't work (that is supposed to). My latest fight was with remote voicemail retrieval, since we are not in the physical office. There's supposed to be 3 ways, one of which is online, to get it, but 0 out of 3 worked. The online way doesn't work with how our browers are locked down and IT can't figure out how to make it work. It's a miracle anything works for us.

6thElement

Schrodinger's Immigrant
Jul 29, 2008