Quantcast

Get past plateau?

Feb 14, 2004
SoCal
I donno if you guys would know about this, but I've been lifting at the gym close to every day for a couple weeks now and I think I've hit my plateau. How exactly do I get past it? Will I need to take a supplement? Thanks. (and no I'm not a muscle head... I weigh 150 and I'm 5'9", just looking to get a lil bit bigger)

urbanhuckbot

Monkey
May 28, 2004
every day is too much.
you cannot plateau if you have only been lifting for a couple of weeks, well maybe.

get some knowledge, buy a book on strength training.
chainge up your routine, lower weights, higher reps, or higher weight, lower reps.

give it some time, a couple of weeks is a very short time.

as far as getting bigger, eat meat. you need to consume 1 gram of protein per pound of body weight in order for muscles to hypertrophy.

Feb 14, 2004
SoCal
Well I've been lifting for a couple months, but with really low weight and a gazillion reps, I've only lifted heavy stuff for about a month now.

So every day is too much? I guess every other day then...

Thanks for your answer

chicodude

The Spooninator
Mar 28, 2004
Paradise
this is a little late but oh well

REST.

You can only build muscle as fast as your body can recover after workouts

JMAC

Turbo Monkey
Feb 18, 2002
yeah dude you don;t want to weight train more than like 3X a week or you won;t see much improvements. After awhile you'll start to lose any gains you've made. So you want to always make sure you get enough rest.

drago52

Chimp
Aug 21, 2004
Eagle-Vail, CO
You can weight lift every day, but not the same parts. It's still better to take a rest every day. A good plan is to lift upper body one day, lower body the next, then rest a day. You'll end up lifting 5 days a week, but really focusing each workout on specific muscles. It works well.

Also, high reps/low sets tones muscles and builds endurance. Low reps/high sets builds bulk and power.

-Ryan

Slider

Monkey
May 23, 2004
Moscow, ID