Quantcast

getting sucked into sc

bent^biker

Turbo Monkey
Feb 22, 2006
pdx
supposed to be xc but w/e

right now i race/ride mostly downhill and do some "all mountain" trails now and again on my hartail (which weighs way too much). I have been looking to get into a short travel trail rig to do some training and "casual" riding. I put the quotations because even though it may be casual I never like to ride slowly. So now I have the dilema of choosing my weapon. I will be looking at the specialized line up and price is non issue. here are other factors: I don't want to put a whole lot of $$ into this rig because it will not be my primary bike, I just ride up so I can ride down (i don't enjoy climbing), rough terrain is what i live off of, my other rig requires a chairlift.

Right now I am looking at an epic comp or a stumpy comp. I would prefer the epic comp because the brain is simply amazing (I'm a tech geek too), and I really don't think the extra inch will be that big of a difference and this will be replacing my hardtail (which has no rear travel after all). My concerns are that the geo might be a bit to race oriented for me. I was considering putting on a thompson lay-back post, a higher riser bar, and a shorter stem to get a bit more of an all mountain feel. I realize that the epic is intended as a pure race bike but it really seems as if it could be a very capable all mountain rig.

I appreciate the help and gravity addict tolerance.

V-Dub GTI

Monkey
Jun 11, 2006
blah!
I have rode both the stumpy and the epic, I personally bought the stumpy, it seemed more burly to me, and I'm not that little, if you know what i mean. The epic did pedal well though, better than the stumpy, but the rear travel didn't seem as active as the stumpy. If you are wanting to go downhill fast, i would buy the stumpy, I know i love mine.

thats my $.02

bent^biker

Turbo Monkey
Feb 22, 2006
pdx
thanks for the input