Quantcast

going "clipless?"

pixelpusher

Chimp
Feb 11, 2005
Oviedo, FL
Hey-
I was just reading the "rippin chix" thread (you girls rock, btw!) and saw some mention of Time brand clipless pedals. I have very little experience on a mountain bike and sorta see the clipless thing as a damned if you do, damned if you don't kinda thing-- I've heard that clipless gives you more confidence and keeps you from "cheating" by sticking your feet down so much, but I've also seen plenty o' people fall right over with feet attached... ow?!

Just wondering what the thoughts were on how early on should someone try clipless, and what kind to go with?

bikebabe

Monkey
Jul 31, 2002
Maryland
Try clipless when you think you're ready. Some people like to go for it right away others don't. I started with them about 6 months after I got addicted to mountain biking. Once you learn how to handle your bike on the trails, you'll be less likely to put your foot down. ...and putting your foot down isn't bad as long as you are aware that you are clipped in and clip out in time. In the beginning it's easy to forget you're clipped in and do the "slow speed topple" but after a while it's second nature.

As for which pedals, I know a lot of people like Times but it requires more strength to get out of than other pedals and may not be the best choice for women just starting out. They are good pedals just tough to twist out of. Shimano type SPD's and Speedplays are easy to get out of and may be a better choice though they have other issues...with mud!

...and welcome to the monkey!

Edit: Forgot to say that clipless really help if you are doing a lot of climbing and I feel more balanced when I'm clipped in.

Heidi

Der hund ist laut und braun
Aug 22, 2001
Bend, Oregon