Quantcast

good 29er for under $600

ihavezippers

Chimp
Jun 8, 2007
I know most of you guys spend more than $600 on your pedals, but for us poor, unfortunate souls, can a good 29er be purchased for under $600? I admit I am a noob to 29ers, and it appears atleast some people use the term to refer to road bikes too, so to clarify, this would be for a hardtail mtb.

MMcG

Ride till you puke!
Dec 10, 2002
Burlington, Connecticut
Redline Monocog 29er - you can probably find one for closer to around $450.00 complete

Also look into the GT Peace 29er

The Raleigh SS 29er - is slightly more but you get disc brakes with it. I think those come in right around $750 or so.

So it is definitely doable.

And I'd venture to guess that the majority of 29er guys aren't the $600 pedal type either.

At least not the guys I know who ride em.

Cheers,

Mark

ihavezippers

Chimp
Jun 8, 2007
Forgive my noobness, but...

1. I notice none of these bikes have front suspension...? Is that an inherent feature of 29ers?

2. Aside from the wheels/tires, are components pretty much interchangeable with your ordinary mtb? For instance, I wouldn't have to get special "29er" shifters, brakes, forks, etc?

Thanks for your help..

MMcG

Ride till you puke!
Dec 10, 2002
Burlington, Connecticut
Forgive my noobness, but...

1. I notice none of these bikes have front suspension...? Is that an inherent feature of 29ers?

2. Aside from the wheels/tires, are components pretty much interchangeable with your ordinary mtb? For instance, I wouldn't have to get special "29er" shifters, brakes, forks, etc?

Thanks for your help..
At that price point you won't find a suspension fork. However with the bigger wheels and high volume tires you get a little bit of "cushion" with a Rigid fork.

Other than frame geometry, wheels and fork - everything else would be the same for a 29er as a 26er.

Also at your price point right now it would be hard to find a geared bike for that price.

nosamiam

Chimp
Jun 16, 2007