Quantcast

GoPro

Discussion in 'BMX & Dirt Jumping' started by TortugaTonta, Jan 8, 2011.

  1. TortugaTonta

    TortugaTonta Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    1 / 0
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    540
    They have really improved. I allways hated helmet cam footage but it looks a lot better now. . .

     
    #1 -   Jan 8, 2011

    Please register to disable this ad.

  2. Dirtjumper999

    Dirtjumper999 Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    4 / 0
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2005
    Messages:
    1,563
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    True Dat.

    I remember when all helmet cams were splotchy and the frames were always jittery when the riders hit any rough spots in the trail. Now they are 1080p, 60fps, and smooth buttery footage.
     
    #2 -   Jan 8, 2011
  3. stgil888

    stgil888 Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    484
    Location:
    Malibu, CA
    Agreed. I have been trying to keep up from the coverage of CES 2011. If nothing new is announced, I will be getting a Go Pro.
     
    #3 -   Jan 8, 2011
  4. IH8Rice

    IH8Rice I'm Mr. Negative! I Fail!

    Rep/Likes:
    62 / 485
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    24,856
    Location:
    Im over here now
    you missed all the coverage already
    http://www.ridemonkey.com/forums/showpost.php?p=3572021&postcount=55


    there arent any that shoot 60fps @ 1080p
     
    #4 -   Jan 8, 2011
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2011
  5. Dirtjumper999

    Dirtjumper999 Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    4 / 0
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2005
    Messages:
    1,563
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC

    More of a comment of all the features of today's helmet cams.
     
    #5 -   Jan 8, 2011
  6. don

    don Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    6 / 0
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    1,321
    Location:
    Rumson, NJ
    Best thing about the helmet cams are you can ride and still take footage. Just flip the button before your run and again when you are done. Keep it mounted just about where a visor would go and it doesn't look all weird.
     
    #6 -   Jan 8, 2011
  7. demo 9

    demo 9 Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    9 / 45
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Messages:
    5,924
    Location:
    north jersey
    #7 -   Jan 8, 2011
  8. v-digit

    v-digit Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,220
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    so does anyone have any idea when the one with a lil screen comes out?
     
  9. nyhc00

    nyhc00 Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    498
    Location:
    CT
    good thread. I'm going to use my GoPro camera tonight for the 1st time at the Haven Skatepark. Hopefully the impending snowstorm will scare some people away and it will be empty.
     
  10. IH8Rice

    IH8Rice I'm Mr. Negative! I Fail!

    Rep/Likes:
    62 / 485
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    24,856
    Location:
    Im over here now
    should be about 2 months
     
  11. v-digit

    v-digit Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,220
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    overstock.com got em for 240! just picked one up.
     
  12. kidwoo

    kidwoo Celebrating No-Pants Day

    Rep/Likes:
    161 / 1,561
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Messages:
    21,881
    Location:
    In my pants
    Keep in mind, what you're seeing is footage hand selected from a batch, taken on somewhat ideal lighting days, and quite likely run through some post prod stabilization. Helmet cameras are still just cheap video cameras that come with a mount.

    Don't expect to just throw one on and have everything you shoot look like that.
     
  13. v-digit

    v-digit Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,220
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    so are you tellin me that i wont be able to clear any good size double EVEN AFTER i get this helmet cam? :(
     
  14. IH8Rice

    IH8Rice I'm Mr. Negative! I Fail!

    Rep/Likes:
    62 / 485
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    24,856
    Location:
    Im over here now
    uh, yeah. thats exactly what he said
     
  15. kidwoo

    kidwoo Celebrating No-Pants Day

    Rep/Likes:
    161 / 1,561
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Messages:
    21,881
    Location:
    In my pants
    You'll be able to hit the doubles, but if you're going for flip double whips, you're going to have to get a more expensive camera unfortunately.
     
  16. v-digit

    v-digit Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,220
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    see, thats what i hate about mountain biking and urban assault. you need all this expensive equipment to do cool stuff.
     
  17. kidwoo

    kidwoo Celebrating No-Pants Day

    Rep/Likes:
    161 / 1,561
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Messages:
    21,881
    Location:
    In my pants
    It's certainly a bitch.

    You do already have the purple plastic pedals, grips, and itty bitty seat combo though right?

    You can't even BUY a camera without that setup first.
     
  18. stgil888

    stgil888 Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    484
    Location:
    Malibu, CA
    The camera body has stayed the same, correct? It just looks like new accessories are being offered.
     
  19. IH8Rice

    IH8Rice I'm Mr. Negative! I Fail!

    Rep/Likes:
    62 / 485
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    24,856
    Location:
    Im over here now
    the 1080p model has. the finally have a new firmware for the model too.
    they just introduced a new 960p model
     
  20. nyhc00

    nyhc00 Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    498
    Location:
    CT
    I'm now experiencing what you described. After filming a dozen or so clips last night , the playback speed when i went to review it was erratic at best. Emailed GoPro and waiting to hear back from them, also made some adjustments to my computers playback speed which didn't help. We'll see.
     
  21. IH8Rice

    IH8Rice I'm Mr. Negative! I Fail!

    Rep/Likes:
    62 / 485
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    24,856
    Location:
    Im over here now
    the erratic playback isnt because of the camera. its probably because of your computer.
    are you trying to render it at 1080p or 720p?
     
  22. nyhc00

    nyhc00 Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    498
    Location:
    CT
    1080, and i also shot some at 960 resolution with the same result.
     
  23. IH8Rice

    IH8Rice I'm Mr. Negative! I Fail!

    Rep/Likes:
    62 / 485
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    24,856
    Location:
    Im over here now
    try shooting at 720p/60 and 720p/30. like i said, your computer might not be able to handle it
     
  24. kidwoo

    kidwoo Celebrating No-Pants Day

    Rep/Likes:
    161 / 1,561
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Messages:
    21,881
    Location:
    In my pants
    Yeah that's not the camera. What are you using to view the clips?
     
  25. nyhc00

    nyhc00 Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    498
    Location:
    CT
    just tried it on my netbook. Acer Aspire One. I'll throw it on the laptop and see if that fixes the problem.
     
  26. kidwoo

    kidwoo Celebrating No-Pants Day

    Rep/Likes:
    161 / 1,561
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Messages:
    21,881
    Location:
    In my pants
    I meant what program. But a computer with some processing power is needed just to play these damn things.
     
  27. IH8Rice

    IH8Rice I'm Mr. Negative! I Fail!

    Rep/Likes:
    62 / 485
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    24,856
    Location:
    Im over here now
    im surprised your netbook didnt commit suicide trying to play the 1080p files
     
  28. nyhc00

    nyhc00 Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    498
    Location:
    CT
    haha, well now i know.

    And i was playing it with Windows Media Player.
     
  29. kidwoo

    kidwoo Celebrating No-Pants Day

    Rep/Likes:
    161 / 1,561
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Messages:
    21,881
    Location:
    In my pants
    Yeah the latest versions of window media player work pretty well with the raw clips...just need the processing power to do it. But that's definitely not the camera.
     
  30. nyhc00

    nyhc00 Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    498
    Location:
    CT
    Any idea what is the optimal processing speed needed for HD? right now my laptop is at 1.66Ghz.
     
  31. Cru Jones

    Cru Jones Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Messages:
    3,032
    Location:
    Hell Track
    I'm using a 2.66 Ghz quad core with 8GB ram... edits HD no problem.

    You can get away with less if you don't edit with the raw HD files from the camera - you can convert them to more manageable avi, wmv, or mp4 files first.
     
  32. IH8Rice

    IH8Rice I'm Mr. Negative! I Fail!

    Rep/Likes:
    62 / 485
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    24,856
    Location:
    Im over here now
    are you trying to edit 720, 960 or 1080p? depending on the other specs of your laptop and the software, you should be able to edit most files.
    im able to edit all files with my slowest laptop w/ a 1.83ghz processor, 2gb's of ram and basic video card.
     
  33. nyhc00

    nyhc00 Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    498
    Location:
    CT
    i'm working with 720 now seeing as how I don't have enough processing speed to handle anything higher at the moment. I'm hitting up Rye Skatepark tomorrow, so hopefully i can get enough decent footage to make an edit.
    At this point I have mixed reviews on having a helmet camera. I can see sitting on the shelf collecting dust.
     
  34. mattt

    mattt Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Messages:
    126
    Location:
    texas
  35. v-digit

    v-digit Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,220
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    had an amazing time with my Gopro this morning riding through the snowed out NYC. got some epic footy.

    Gopro gets thumbs up from me.



    check more on create2destroy
     
    #35 -   Jan 27, 2011
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2011
  36. v-digit

    v-digit Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,220
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    thats some sweet footy. trails look smooth.
     
  37. nyhc00

    nyhc00 Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    498
    Location:
    CT
  38. demo 9

    demo 9 Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    9 / 45
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Messages:
    5,924
    Location:
    north jersey
    wow, what park?
     
  39. nyhc00

    nyhc00 Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    498
    Location:
    CT
    Rye Airfield, up in New Hampshire. An hour north of Boston. This is their bowl too.

    http://vimeo.com/19306640
     
  40. TortugaTonta

    TortugaTonta Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    1 / 0
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    540