Quantcast

GPS to web 2.0

May 25, 2008
Hello all,

This is my first post here and will be among other biking areas. I have been biking for about a year now and just recently purchased a Garmin Edge 205. So far it has been a really great little device and I am extremely happy I put out the money for it as it has caused me to push myself more than I did before. Why? Well because the GPS like other cycle computers displays the speed, distance, etc. I love the speed so naturally I try my hardest to keep it in the double digits.

So, to quickly introduce myself and why I am making this post. I am a security engineer (networking, IT work, development, etc) and since I have gotten my GPS I have been using a site (www.gpsies.com) to take my exported Garmin GPX file and display it on Google Maps. This website has been great as its free and offers several options. After taking a look at the Google Maps API I was surprised to see how easy it was to plot my files. As of now I have a basic website, login with sessions passed around and the ability to upload files. Apart from that I found a XSL (stylesheet to transform XML -- the format of the GPX file) that is able to take my GPX file in and produce a Google Map friendly file.