Quantcast

Grips

Joe Pozer

Mullet Head
Aug 22, 2001
Redwood City
I am having problems getting my new grips to stay on the handlebar. The usual method of using hair spray to get them to stick doesn't seem to be working, the ends of the grips twist on me.
Any suggestions on how I can get the grips to stick?

Spud

Monkey
Aug 9, 2001
Idaho (no really!)
I've always used hairspray to help ease them on the bar, not to make 'em stick. I'm thinking you've got too much hairspray on the grips. Clean them up, shoot a dab of hairspray in them, shake them to get the evaporation started and then try it.

Alternately, I've heard rubbing alcohol works as it evaporates fast.

R

RideMonkey

I have been using Tubular glue for about 6 years and it works great. Tubular glue is the glue that roadies use to glue on their tubular tires. Apply the glue to the inside of the grip, slide on the bar, wipe off excess glue and let dry overnight.

Will_Jekyll

CUSTOM Chimp
Aug 10, 2001
Superior,CO
I use rubbing alcohol because it evaporates quickly and leaves no residue. I find with all other methods if you overdue the amount of hairspray, glue, soapy water, ... they don't dry all of the way or leave a residue behind that causes the grip to move around.

Jul 1, 2001
Humboldt Nation
But they require cutting the grip off when you need to remove shifters or brake levers or if you're changing bars.

1. Spray paint...spray it inside the grip moments before slipping it on. A color resembling the bars works best for this.

2. Spray adhesive. This is available in any hardware store. Same deal as the spray paint but without the color options.

3. Grip adhesive. This can be found in motorcycle and ATV shops. This stuff is messy. If you get it on your clothing it's ruined. It can be difficult to get off your skin too.

riderx

Monkey
Aug 14, 2001
Fredrock
Originally posted by Will_Jekyll