HDTV Question

Discussion in 'Computers & Technology' started by CHOP, Dec 25, 2007.

  1. CHOP

    CHOP Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    4 / 0
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Messages:
    609
    Location:
    Rivermont, Va
    I bought a Olevia 37" HDTV about 4 months ago. Out of the box everything was pretty much set correctly. Just in the past few days now when I watch HD channels the picture is too big for the screen. For instance when I watch CBS the little CBS symbol is cut in half on the bottom right of my screen. I can deal with that but the most annoying is when I watch ESPN HD or the NFL Network HD. I can no longer see the scrolling scoreboard at the bottom or the scoreboard for the current game at the top. I went into my set up and messed with all the options such as; horizontal position, vertical position, aspect ratio, cropping, full screen, 1:1, and everything else to no avail. I went through the manual that came with the tv and even went to the website and still can't figure it out. If nobody on here can help me figure it out I will just have to call tech support and see what they suggest. Like I said out of the box and up until about 3 days ago everything was fine, but now it is messed up. Any suggestion? thanks
     

    Please register to disable this ad.

  2. gonefirefightin

    gonefirefightin free wieners

    Rep/Likes:
    26 / 97
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Messages:
    6,684
    Location:
    Surrounded by Police in a hail of gunfire
    unplug it and try again
     
  3. gonefirefightin

    gonefirefightin free wieners

    Rep/Likes:
    26 / 97
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Messages:
    6,684
    Location:
    Surrounded by Police in a hail of gunfire
    unplug it and try again
     
  4. CHOP

    CHOP Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    4 / 0
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Messages:
    609
    Location:
    Rivermont, Va
    Just tried that and it didn't help. I even went into set up and set it back up with the factory settings and that didn't help.
     
  5. V-Dub GTI

    V-Dub GTI Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2006
    Messages:
    952
    Location:
    blah!
    Probably your HD box.
     
  6. CHOP

    CHOP Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    4 / 0
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Messages:
    609
    Location:
    Rivermont, Va
    That is what I am thinking. Thanks for the replies.
     
  7. DHS

    DHS Friendly Neighborhood Pool Boy

    Rep/Likes:
    4 / 0
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2002
    Messages:
    5,101
    Location:
    Sand, CA
    i have the same tv, but the 5 series version. also, you may want to upgrade the firmware. helped for me on another issue
     
  8. CHOP

    CHOP Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    4 / 0
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Messages:
    609
    Location:
    Rivermont, Va
    I went on the Olevia website and there isn't a firmware update for mine yet.
     
  9. Secret Squirrel

    Secret Squirrel There is no Justice!

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Messages:
    8,173
    Location:
    Up sh*t creek, without a paddle
    I have the same half cut-off ticker issue on my Samsung DLP but only with CBS HD...and I run an antenna and catch the over the air signal...it's annoying...and since it's cross platform, I'd logically think that CBS blows goats. :D
     
  10. MtnBikerChk

    MtnBikerChk Squeaky Wheel

    Rep/Likes:
    4 / 4
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2001
    Messages:
    5,459
    Location:
    Southern New England (where there ain't no TITUS d
    does it have different views? Depending on what channel I'm watching, I have to change the setting - it's also different on my sharp vs my samsung.

    ie: the sharp has dot-by-dot, stretch, superstretch and a 4th I can't remember.

    the samsung says: 16:9, wide or wide-fit

    see if you can find settings like that and play with them.
     
  11. CHOP

    CHOP Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    4 / 0
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Messages:
    609
    Location:
    Rivermont, Va
    Got it fixed, thanks. While I looked at the settings on my cable box I didn't look deep enough. Somehow it got changed to zoom 1.
     
  12. MtnBikerChk

    MtnBikerChk Squeaky Wheel

    Rep/Likes:
    4 / 4
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2001
    Messages:
    5,459
    Location:
    Southern New England (where there ain't no TITUS d
    That's the other one - ZOOM. DERH
     
  13. DHS

    DHS Friendly Neighborhood Pool Boy

    Rep/Likes:
    4 / 0
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2002
    Messages:
    5,101
    Location:
    Sand, CA
    awesome. good to hear. i love this tv.

    which of the series do you own?

    did you know the 5series is almost 40lbs lighter then the ones before it?
    does you have the HDtv tuner built in it?
     
  14. CHOP

    CHOP Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    4 / 0
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Messages:
    609
    Location:
    Rivermont, Va
    I have the 2 series. Mine is the 237T, which obviously is the 37".
    http://www.olevia.com/products/detail.aspx?pid=237T
    Yeah I love mine also. My bro has a 52" Panasonic and we both agree that my picture is better.
     
  15. deadatbirth

    deadatbirth Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    657
    Location:
    In a van down by the river
    yeah typically a tv wont loose its settings unless there is a major issue with the tv. the cable or sat box would usually be the culprit as in your case. the cable boxes are usually used and can have issues.