Quantcast

Helmuts. Yes or No?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chunky Munkey

Herpes!
May 10, 2006
is ALWAYS key I say...
Okay I have been on here a short while but I've been on a lot of other sites. So far I see most people wear helmuts and on serious jump shots, I see better helmuts and pads. However on this site I see a lot of the pics of guys jumping huge airs on dirt AND on concrete with NO helmut and NO arm pads or knee pads.

Is it a macho thing or to be cool? The reason I ask is I have been wearing a helmut for 11 years. I've hit trees, I've hit other riders, I've endoed, I've crashed on the road with a motorcycle and in the dirt and I'm still here all because of my helmut. And about four years ago, I was driving my car past the local shopping plaza on a Friday night and saw the State Police MediVac Hellicopter landing on the parking lot. I also saw three young boys in their teens and one with people all around him. There is a HELMUT law wear I live for all kids under the age of 18. When I stopped to ask if the kid laying on the lot was hit by a car in the lot, one of the kids buddies spoke up and said, "No, he was riding a wheelie and all of a sudden he just went over backwards and hit his head on the pavement." I asked if he was wearing a helmut and the kid said no. The other three were smart enough to be wearing theirs though.

He was unconcious and not responding to the medical EMT's on the scene prepping him for the MediVac chopper ride to the hospital.

I thought to myself, all the kid had to have on was a helmut and he would have got back on his bike. His parents were there on the scene after being called and I spoke to an EMT and the person said to me, "It doesn't look good. He may not come out of it. He's not responding. If he does come out of it, he may be brain damaged."