Quantcast

Help with Hypoglycemia

KleinGuy

Chimp
Mar 5, 2010
Guyton, GA
I'm hypoglycemic (low blood sugar) and it seems to be getting worse when I ride. I only did 1 race last season b/c I almost passed out half way through it. What can i do to keep my levels up while riding. I'll admit, I'm fairly out of shape, but I've already started working on that. I'm 5'11" 140 lbs. I also have some stomach issues that cause to to have really bad acid reflux (that I take medicine for). I've tried gels and stuff, but they give me horrible reflux when I ride. Just drinking water while riding won't keep my blood sugar up. Any ideas? This is really starting to irritate me. I wish I had the funds for a trainer and nutritionist, but that's out of the question. Thanks for any help!

jonKranked

Detective Dookie
Nov 10, 2005
media blackout
I'm no expert on nutrition. But if you need long lasting sugars, eat some honey on days you will ride. The natural sugars in it are long chain and therefore slower burning. Don't go overboard though, try a peanut butter and honey sandwich, or plain oatmeal (preferably not the instant kind) with maybe a teaspoon or 2 of it.

Lowlight7

Monkey
Apr 4, 2008
Virginia, USA
Being a paramedic and a diabetic myself...

How do you know it's hypoglycemia?

First things first, you need to go to a doctor and get a glucose tolerance test done. If you're pre-diabetic, you can head that off at the pass but not if you ignore it...

Drink Vitalyte, it's got the double whammy of glucose + rehydration solution, and dehydration is an often-overlooked complication of hypo-/hyperglycemia... Alternate 1 liter of Vitalyte per 1 or 2 liters of water.

Honey is a good choice. Personally, I like to eat a big bowl of Mac 'n' Cheese about an hour before I ride, and munch on peanut M&Ms as needed.

KleinGuy

Chimp
Mar 5, 2010
Guyton, GA