Quantcast

help with rear shock

bmfpeterson

Chimp
May 22, 2010
hi Im a noob in the bike world and bought a giant dh bike a while ago, thought it would be cool realized I need a motor and did nothing with it.

My question is I sent the bike to my cuzin in co to try and sell never worked out and now he shipped it back to me. I got it all back together and something is wrong with the rear shock.

if I cycle through the rear shock stroke a few times its ok but on the fourth or 5th stroke the shock will stay at the bottom of the stroke. almost like the rebound is unbelievably slow. any help is greatly appreciated!

bmfpeterson

Chimp
May 22, 2010
I will look today! Im pretty sure it was the shock that came on the bike....

"needs moar fluid resistance disks!"

so what is fluid resistance discs? sorry im new to this bike thing.. can i replace them? I'm pretty mechanically inclined so maybe I could handle it......

bmfpeterson

Chimp
May 22, 2010
make sure that the shock has air in it. there is a schrader valve that is used in conjunction with a shock pump.
I didn't think it was an air shock, it has a reservoir above the shock, I just assumed is was nitrogen charged? I'll check it out when I get home today

thanks

spocomptonrider

sportin' the CROCS
Nov 30, 2007
spokanistan
Most shocks are air assist and some have a factory nitrogen charge to them. If it has a schrader valve as Ih8rice pointed out use a shock pump (low volume high pressure any bike shop will have one) to assure that the air pressure is at the minimum recommended setting (usually at >75PSI)

tuumbaq

Monkey
Jul 5, 2006
Squamish BC
I dont think the Swinger is nitrogen filled and even it was , it doesnt sound like that would be your problem here...

First guess is that you now have oil&/air trapped where it shouldnt be and would need a rebuild..

bmfpeterson

Chimp
May 22, 2010
I dont think the Swinger is nitrogen filled and even it was , it doesnt sound like that would be your problem here...