Quantcast

hey networking guys... how to get my foot in the door

jacksonpt

Turbo Monkey
Jul 22, 2002
Vestal, NY
I'm in pretty desperate need of a career change. I graduated from college about 5 years ago with a degree in Computer Information Systems. I got a job doing website development and general IT stuff - I'm the only tech guy in my office, so if it plugs into the wall, I'm responsible for it.

Anyways... it's a total deadend job, and I've ridden it as long as I care to. I'd like to get into networking, which is where I thought this job would lead me. I have some basic experience and world knowledge, but nothing that would make my resume stand out. I'm thinking about getting a certification or two that would get me noticed in a pile of resumes. If I can get an interview, I think I'd have a pretty good chance... but I don't have much formal substance to put on my resume at this point.

What certs should I go for to get started? I'm thinking about one or two MCSE tests and CCNA. Then, once I get a job, I'll do whatever that jobs needs to continue growing.

Any tips would be appreciated.

jacksonpt

Turbo Monkey
Jul 22, 2002
Vestal, NY
Originally posted by Tenchiro
Get the certs, then get in line behind the rest of us trying to get jobs. :p
Yea... there's not not many openings right now for networking guys... seems the market is saturated with us. That's part of the problem - I don't want to spend the time/money on getting certified just to move to another entry-level dead end job that doesn't pay.

Maybe I'll just go work construction for a year or two and re-evaluate :rolleyes:

Originally posted by Tenchiro
or move to India...
LOL!!!

Toshi

Harbinger of Doom
Oct 23, 2001
my opinion: all of IT sucks. this includes networking. programming is the only way to go. or a different field...

http://www.competitive.com/TB8+BL.asp?SiteAreaID=637#AbsoluteLink4

APPLICATION DEVELOPERS / SUPPORT ENGINEERS