Quantcast

Hockey Players on the Monkey?? Who else laces up the skates??

MMcG

Ride till you puke!
Dec 10, 2002
Burlington, Connecticut
I started playing in a Monday night men's league this winter after a 4 year hiatus and I'm lovin it. It feels so good to be out on the ice competing again. It had been so long since I played on a team I think I've rediscovered my love for the sport (if only it weren't so damned expensive to play) and I look forward to each weekly game with great anticipation even though we skate at 9 or 10 pm on a Monday night.

So who else laces em up and plays ice hockey here on the Monkey.

How often do you play, where, and at what level?

One of these days I have to make a roadtrip to MA to hookup with splat's early Tuesday morning stick time group so I can fire a few slapshots at his mask! :D :dancing: :evil: :D

Ridemonkey

This is not an active account
Sep 18, 2002
Toronto, Canada
I've played since post-fetal state. I have a feeling it may be cheaper up here though...except maybe in Toronto where arena time is a valuable commodity. We have a ton of outdoor rinks with boards though. It's pretty awesome actually, some of the greatest players in the world get out there. I've played with probably a dozen NHLers over the years in shinny games at public rinks. Amazing sport.

MMcG

Ride till you puke!
Dec 10, 2002
Burlington, Connecticut
Yep - ice time is definitely more reasonable in Canada vs. the US I think.

I grew up just outside of Rochester, NY (aka Jakelope land) and used to play in Ontario quite a bit as a kid. Lots of trips to Missasauga, Whitby, Scarborough, Stratford, Welland, Niagara Falls, Kingston, Hamilton, Burlington, etc. etc.

hooples3

Fuggetaboutit!
Mar 14, 2005
Brooklyn
i havent played much in the past 2 years.. mostly roller... we play in a mall parkinglot in the wintertime to stay a little more warm.