Quantcast

Hope Mini bleeding issues...

Ian F

Turbo Monkey
Sep 8, 2001
Philadelphia area
Yes, I did a search on this subject and it didn't tell me anything I didn't already know and I've been bleeding Hope brakes for years, so I'm not a newbie to this... ;)

A friend of mine bought a set of Hope Mini's off the web and she asked me to help her with shortening the line and running the lines through the bosses on her Duo. "no big deal..." or so I thought.

We attempted the rear brake first. Pulled the banjo off the caliper and removed it fro mthe line, shortened the line... yadda, yadda, yadda... Go to bleed it.... Nothing. No amount of pumping the lever will produce enough pressure to push fluid through the bleed valve. Sit there working the lever for 10 minutes and it just goes to the grip...

After two hours of trying every Hope trick I've learned over the past 5 years, I decide to take a break and convert a C2 I'm selling her from a #6 to a #3. Everything goes fine - despite the fact the #3 is brand new and had no fluid in it. Then we decide to do the front brake on the Duo (line needed shortening as well). That brake bleeds fine - literally take about 5 minutes start to finish. "See? I'm not insane! That's how it's supposed to go!" I tell her. :)

Unfortunately, still no pressure will build in the rear brake....

I'm at a loss. I would imagine that regardless of how much air may be trapped in the caliper, pumping the lever long enough would evenutally compress the air enough to get some lever... but we're getting nothing. Any ideas? :confused:

D_D

Monkey
Dec 16, 2001
UK
Try getting a big seringe and pump the fluid up to the lever.

Remove the hose from the lever and see if it will pump fluid then.

If you remove the hose from both ends you can drain all the fluid and air bubbles out and check for a blockage in it.

Might be worth striping the entire sytem to check its not blocked somewhere.

I am sure you must be doing it but are doing it but are you,