Quantcast

hopping and stuff

Tully

Monkey
Oct 8, 2003
Seattle, WA
I just got a new hardtail, and I want to learn to do some trialsy street riding, but I am completely stuck. First of all, I can't manual, even though I've been trying to learn for a couple months. What are some good tips? Also, once I learn how to manual, how do you progress from a manual to rear wheel hopping and pedal kicking?

iridebikes

Monkey
Jan 31, 2004
seattle
hey, i've been riding trials for a couple months now, i can't manual at all. if i ever do, its always on accident. the basics to rear wheel hopping: slowly rolling forward, grab the front brake, rock forward, and shift all your weight back and pull up on the bars. this wil get the front end up, then just practice jumping. its tough at first, and can be frustrating at times. as you start to get that down, to pedal kick: with front end up hopping on your rear wheel, hop while letting go of the rear brake, and giving a quarter pedal turn. its awkword at first, trust me, but it will come with practice. try and go out riding with some other trials guys. you'll want to go out with people who are better than you, jsut go give you some pointers (I've found that it really helps you push your limits). but you'll also want to be able to ride with people yoru own skill level, so you guys can push eachother, and encourage eachother. the best thing is to just get out there and practice. even if its in a parking lot or on the sidewalk. just practice hopping and learning how to pedal kick. practice practice practice. another good thing to remember, as your learning, try and keep your knees and elbows bent, i have a really hard time with this because i learned with my arms and legs really stif instead of bent. i hope this helps!

trialsmasta

Monkey
Oct 19, 2001
Austin TX