Quantcast

House buying - money pit or good idea

Buy a house (details in OP)?

• Total voters

mandown

Poopdeck Repost
Jun 1, 2004
Transylvania 90210
Looking at houses in LA. I can probably pull a $500k place and get a mortgage at about $2,000 a month vs my current rent of $1,300.

I don't really need the extra space. In fact the extra cleaning, furnishing, and maintenance might be a negative for my time and money. I would like a place with AC. I don't have it now, and moving would mean a bump up in rent, which makes it seem like I may as well go whole-hog into a mortgage. Though my landlord and I just started talking about getting an AC unit installed in my place (it's an old place with odd wall and window space for using window or portable units).

I'm a SINK. I'd like to think I'll be a DINK at some point. Assuming that happens in the foreseeable future, I'd have a big buying power upgrade.

I've done the math on the hard numbers (I'm an accountant and in the real estate industry by day). I have some friends telling me I should jump in to the market. I've had others tell me to save the funds in liquid form and avoid the responsibilities of ownership. What's the hive-monkey-mind think?

wiscodh

Monkey
Jun 21, 2007
Looking at houses in LA. I can probably pull a $500k place and get a mortgage at about $2,000 a month vs my current rent of $1,300.

I don't really need the extra space. In fact the extra cleaning, furnishing, and maintenance might be a negative for my time and money. I would like a place with AC. I don't have it now, and moving would mean a bump up in rent, which makes it seem like I may as well go whole-hog into a mortgage. Though my landlord and I just started talking about getting an AC unit installed in my place (it's an old place with odd wall and window space for using window or portable units).

I'm a SINK. I'd like to think I'll be a DINK at some point. Assuming that happens in the foreseeable future, I'd have a big buying power upgrade.