Quantcast

How can I "downgrade" Windows?

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by BigMike, Sep 28, 2005.

  1. BigMike

    BigMike BrokenbikeMike

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Messages:
    8,933
    Location:
    Montgomery county MD
    I want to go from XP to 2000 Pro on my laptop, and it wont boot from the CD. And since its an "older" version of Windows, it wont let me install from Windows.....

    any ideas?
     

    Please register to disable this ad.

  2. stosh

    stosh Darth Bailer

    Rep/Likes:
    14 / 113
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2001
    Messages:
    21,936
    Location:
    NY
    format c:*.*
     
  3. firetoole

    firetoole duch bag

    Rep/Likes:
    4 / 0
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    Messages:
    1,910
    Location:
    Wooo Tulips!!!!
    try using a baseball bat if that doesn't work

    format your hard drive and it should take
    (2000 is kinda weird because it does not run off DOS)
     
  4. H8R

    H8R Cranky Pants

    Rep/Likes:
    7 / 4
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Messages:
    13,965
    Will it boot from any CD that has an OS on it at all?

    If not, you need to tell it to select "cd first" in the boot selection option via the BIOS, then reboot to CD.

    If it's a real W2K cd it will boot from it. Take the cd out, back up everything first, then reformat and install.
     
  5. SkaredShtles

    SkaredShtles I love NEWCASTLE and will ONLY drink NEWCASTLE!!!!

    Rep/Likes:
    257 / 2,158
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Messages:
    47,368
    Location:
    In a van.... down by the river
    Downgrade Windows.

    That's funny.
     
  6. Westy

    Westy the teste

    Rep/Likes:
    447 / 2,888
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Messages:
    36,136
    Location:
    Sleazattle
    Do you have your BIOS set to boot from the CD-rom? If you have another W2K computer available you can always make some boot floppies.
     
  7. bluebug32

    bluebug32 Asshat

    Rep/Likes:
    4 / 0
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Messages:
    6,143
    Location:
    Floating down the Hudson
    throw it out the window

    or

    wait for viruses to downgrade it for you
     
  8. Ciaran

    Ciaran Fear my banana

    Rep/Likes:
    6 / 8
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Messages:
    9,843
    Location:
    So Cal
    I would call a move from XP to 2000 an UPGRADE.

    Remember that your install is key to the long term health of your system. Install apps one at a time and test before installing the next one. Be patient and take your time.
    You only get viruses if you don't maintain your anti virus software. If you are not running AV software I have no pity for you.
     
  9. BigMike

    BigMike BrokenbikeMike

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Messages:
    8,933
    Location:
    Montgomery county MD
    Yeah, I consider it an upgrade too, but..... the computer doesnt think so. Thats why there were quotes on the "downgrade"
     
  10. dfinn

    dfinn Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,129
    Location:
    SL, UT
    like others have suggested the cleanest and safest way is gonna be to format the HD and start from scratch. You can always use something like a removable USB hard drive to back up any data you need from XP and then move it back over once 2K is installed. XP has much better driver support though. want to sell me your copy of XP?
     
  11. binary visions

    binary visions The voice of reason

    Rep/Likes:
    83 / 365
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2002
    Messages:
    21,601
    Location:
    NC
    As far as I know, you cannot install an older version of Windows over a newer version of Windows. You have to format or delete your Windows directory.
     
  12. H8R

    H8R Cranky Pants

    Rep/Likes:
    7 / 4
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Messages:
    13,965
    *slap*

    We already covered that. Keep up!

    :D
     
  13. DHS

    DHS Friendly Neighborhood Pool Boy

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2002
    Messages:
    5,101
    Location:
    Sand, CA
    its impossible to downgrade from XP. unless you re-format.
    been there before.
     
  14. Westy

    Westy the teste

    Rep/Likes:
    447 / 2,888
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Messages:
    36,136
    Location:
    Sleazattle
    Sorry, I tend to ignore your posts when your not being evil. Helpfull does not look good on you.
     
  15. BigMike

    BigMike BrokenbikeMike

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Messages:
    8,933
    Location:
    Montgomery county MD
    OK, so how can I format C: if windows is installed on it?

     
  16. robdamanii

    robdamanii OMG! <3 Tom Brady!

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    Messages:
    10,681
    Location:
    Out of my mind, back in a moment.
    Start in a dos prompt, then format.
     
  17. dfinn

    dfinn Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,129
    Location:
    SL, UT
    boot off a win2k install cd. remove that partition. create new one and install on that. you don't want to format while you are running on that OS, not on purpose anyways.
     
  18. BigMike

    BigMike BrokenbikeMike

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Messages:
    8,933
    Location:
    Montgomery county MD

    Right, I can't do that....... XP does not have dos.

    I am now in search of DOS :)
     
  19. robdamanii

    robdamanii OMG! <3 Tom Brady!

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    Messages:
    10,681
    Location:
    Out of my mind, back in a moment.
    Um, if you hit F8 I think on startup you can get a menu to select a dos prompt. At least my XP machine does.

    Or are you saying it won't let you format from THAT prompt?
     
  20. H8R

    H8R Cranky Pants

    Rep/Likes:
    7 / 4
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Messages:
    13,965
    May angry policemen hold you in their urine stream for your insolence.
     
  21. Tenchiro

    Tenchiro Attention K Mart Shoppers

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Messages:
    5,407
    Location:
    New England
    Get a Macintosh! :D
     
  22. SkaredShtles

    SkaredShtles I love NEWCASTLE and will ONLY drink NEWCASTLE!!!!

    Rep/Likes:
    257 / 2,158
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Messages:
    47,368
    Location:
    In a van.... down by the river
    Linux. He gets to keep the same hardware. :p
     
  23. BigMike

    BigMike BrokenbikeMike

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Messages:
    8,933
    Location:
    Montgomery county MD
    Correct!

    The only choice it gives me is Safe mode with command prompt, and that boots you into windows.

    Windows is really stupid and proprietary. I think i'm just gonna stick in one of my Linux discs to get it to format :sneaky:

    All I'm trying to do is make my old laptop perform better so I can give it to my Girlfriend!
     
  24. H8R

    H8R Cranky Pants

    Rep/Likes:
    7 / 4
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Messages:
    13,965
    Yes! Now THAT is a downgrade!
     
  25. robdamanii

    robdamanii OMG! <3 Tom Brady!

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    Messages:
    10,681
    Location:
    Out of my mind, back in a moment.
    Hrm. My windows has a plain prompt option. It won't boot to windows unless you actually go into the c:/windows directory and run windows from the command prompt.
     
  26. SkaredShtles

    SkaredShtles I love NEWCASTLE and will ONLY drink NEWCASTLE!!!!

    Rep/Likes:
    257 / 2,158
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Messages:
    47,368
    Location:
    In a van.... down by the river
    :eek:
     
  27. BigMike

    BigMike BrokenbikeMike

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Messages:
    8,933
    Location:
    Montgomery county MD
    I have a Mac, so technically I have *nix too :think:

    And I have a Windows Machine, now i'm just trying to reformat my old laptop that is being wonky to work for Jen
     
  28. Tenchiro

    Tenchiro Attention K Mart Shoppers

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Messages:
    5,407
    Location:
    New England
    Not for too long, they already have a dev build that runs on Intel chips.
     
  29. Ciaran

    Ciaran Fear my banana

    Rep/Likes:
    6 / 8
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Messages:
    9,843
    Location:
    So Cal
    I can't believe you guys (most of you anyway)! You're making it soooooo hard when it's easy! you don't need DOS. DOS IS DEAD!

    Dude, fire up your machine. Go into the BIOS. Set it to boot from the CD drive first. Put in your Win2K CD. Reboot. Watch the screen, when it says, "Press any key to boot from CD" press any key.

    The CD will load what it needs. Folow the prompts from there to remove any and all existing partitions. Create new partition, format using NTFS, let it install. BAMMO! You have just installed windows.

    If you have an illigitimate disc let me know and I'll mail you a legit one with a key.

    Mac? P'shaw! Get a computer, not a toy

    Linux? Please! The guy can barely install windows. Linux is going to be a hundred times more involved and geeky.

    You can do it mang! :thumb: Just don't listen to any of us!
     
  30. BigMike

    BigMike BrokenbikeMike

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Messages:
    8,933
    Location:
    Montgomery county MD
    Take it to the Misquote thread mister! :angry:
     
  31. H8R

    H8R Cranky Pants

    Rep/Likes:
    7 / 4
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Messages:
    13,965
    Yeah! What I said!
     
  32. SkaredShtles

    SkaredShtles I love NEWCASTLE and will ONLY drink NEWCASTLE!!!!

    Rep/Likes:
    257 / 2,158
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Messages:
    47,368
    Location:
    In a van.... down by the river
    Yeah - but you said "a Macintosh"............ :confused:
     
  33. SkaredShtles

    SkaredShtles I love NEWCASTLE and will ONLY drink NEWCASTLE!!!!

    Rep/Likes:
    257 / 2,158
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Messages:
    47,368
    Location:
    In a van.... down by the river
    Have you installed Linux lately? It practically installs itself. And it makes a cappucino for you while it's installing. :D
     
  34. BigMike

    BigMike BrokenbikeMike

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Messages:
    8,933
    Location:
    Montgomery county MD
    Ciaran, That is the problem. IT WONT BOOT FROM THE CD. I know how to boot from a CD, I know how to use a computer, and I'm telling you, it WILL not boot from this CD.

    And no, Linux is not too geeky for me, I ran it for a long time, and still have a box running it. I do know a lot about computers, just for some reason uninstalling XP is giving me problems
     
  35. BigMike

    BigMike BrokenbikeMike

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Messages:
    8,933
    Location:
    Montgomery county MD
    Thats true, I'm sitting here looking at the Fedora Core installer right now :D
     
  36. Tenchiro

    Tenchiro Attention K Mart Shoppers

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Messages:
    5,407
    Location:
    New England
    Yeah but having an operable OS after the install is still a crapshoot.
     
  37. Ciaran

    Ciaran Fear my banana

    Rep/Likes:
    6 / 8
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Messages:
    9,843
    Location:
    So Cal
    Actually I built a Linux box about 3 weeks ago. I never have trouble with the basic install of the OS, it's the drivers and apps that gets me. But then I have very little experience with Linux. I focus on Windows because that's what I have to support at work.

    I could use a cappucino making OS.
    Hmmm... OK... I assume that the BIOS is set to have the CD drive as the first boot device. Is the PC not picking up the CD at all on boot? Like someone else said, have you tried other bootable CD's to determine if it's the CD, or the drive/PC? If the BIOS is set correctly it sounds like either the CD is hosed, it's flashing the "Press any key to boot from CD" screen so fast that you don't see it, or the CD drive is hosed.

    Well, worst case senario is that you go to bootdisk.com http://www.bootdisk.com/ and download a win2kboot disk.
     
  38. dfinn

    dfinn Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,129
    Location:
    SL, UT
    will it boot from other CDs? I've had iso images that I "found" on the internet before that were supposed to be bootable but for whatever reason were not. I'm no expert when it comes to windows (linux sys admin) but if you can't boot off the install cd how will you get it installed? You got boot floppies or something like that?
     
  39. SkaredShtles

    SkaredShtles I love NEWCASTLE and will ONLY drink NEWCASTLE!!!!

    Rep/Likes:
    257 / 2,158
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Messages:
    47,368
    Location:
    In a van.... down by the river
  40. Barbaton

    Barbaton Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,477
    Location:
    suburban hell
    I like that the mac version of those instructions is: "Turn it on, Put in CD, hold down C" :eviltongu