Quantcast

How does Grad School work?

Kornphlake

Turbo Monkey
Oct 8, 2002
Portland, OR
I'm considering going back to school for a Master's degree but I'm a little confused about what I'd actually get from a Master's program. I have a BS degree in Manufacturing Engineering and I'd really like to get a Master's in Mechanical Engineering with an empahsis in automation and machine design. The problem is that the schools I've looked at have vague descriptions of what graduate programs are offered and what the student will learn. I know that the university where I got my BS offered graduate courses based on professors current research projects, basically you found a professor that was working on something you wanted to work on and helped him get a patent, or write a book or whatever. I'm really looking for a specific type of education and a hands on training rather than theoretical, I'd hate to spend a semester working on all the applications, pettitions and such to be assigned a project that really won't fulfill my goals.

So who's been to grad school and want's to tell me how the whole thing works, or if somebody knows of a site that explains it all I'd be willing to read a bit.

Ridemonkey

This is not an active account
Sep 18, 2002
Toronto, Canada
Grad school sites are useless for the most part. Your best bet is to find some schools that seem inline with your interests and email some of the professors directly.

profro

Turbo Monkey
Feb 25, 2002
Walden Ridge
I got a master's in ME from The University of Tennessee in Knoxville and the reason you don't see much listed about them is that grad school's are not accredited. So its basically whatever you and your advisor come up with. The Engineering college usally has some rules about number or hours, but most courses and study layout are done by you and your professor.