Quantcast

How's the riding in the Monterey Bay area?

blue

boob hater
Jan 24, 2004
california
I've been to Sea Otter, so I'm not expecting epic DH here, but what is there to offer/how far is it from the major population centers? Fort Ord is mostly XC stuff I know, but beyond that I'm pretty lost. Probably moving out there come winter and going to CSUMB.

Total Heckler

Beer and Bike Enthusiast
Apr 28, 2005
Santa Cruz, CA
There are some trails a little up north from Monterey. Let me know when you make it into the area and I can show you some good DH/Freeride trails.

bdamschen

Turbo Monkey
Nov 28, 2005
Spreckels, CA
What Josh said. Santa Cruz is about 30-45 mins north and has some very nice trails. There's also some fun shuttle-able, but short DH in Monterey if you know where to look.

For major population centers, from CSUMB you've got Salinas 15 mins east and San Jose 1 hr north.

Drop me a PM when you get into town. I graduated from csumb a few years back.

blue

boob hater
Jan 24, 2004
california
I've heard SC has some killer riding...I'm also contemplating going to UCSC, but that would be a bit more of a stretch. Too much $$$, sadly.

Where's the nice places to live? We (girlfriend and I) will be staying at her mom's place in Cupertino while we look for jobs and housing. Is Seaside a nice place? I just like being close to school...otherwise we'll probably end up in Monterey. I've heard Salinas is a bit of a dump.

Total Heckler

Beer and Bike Enthusiast
Apr 28, 2005
Santa Cruz, CA