Quantcast

hub tech

jonKranked

Detective Dookie
Nov 10, 2005
media blackout
so its been many years since ive had to acquire new hubs (thanks hadley and i9) but for my next build i will be getting something new, i've always been intrigued by the sprag roller clutch bearings. I'm aware of a few brands that make them, Onyx, Box (they purchased True Precision didn't they?). Who uses what? pros/cons? how do they compare to other high engagement hubs like i9 hydra?

OGRipper

back alley ripper
Feb 3, 2004
NORCAL is the hizzle
I have no experience with either, the weight has always been a turn-off. I have no issues with modern high-engagement hubs, so they're kind of a solution to a problem I don't have.

If you want to nerd out, note that the Onyx and Box mechanisms are slightly different. Onyx uses a sprag clutch, Box uses a one-way bearing with moving rollers. Supposedly less drag, decreased wear, and faster engagement, but I don't know if that's true or just marketing. Both are pretty neat, for sure.

King remains the gold standard for me for low weight and high-engagement but to be honest, I've been fine with the DT hubs that come on the last few bikes I've bought.

I have no experience with either, the weight has always been a turn-off. I have no issues with modern high-engagement hubs, so they're kind of a solution to a problem I don't have.

If you want to nerd out, note that the Onyx and Box mechanisms are slightly different. Onyx uses a sprag clutch, Box uses a one-way bearing with moving rollers. Supposedly less drag, decreased wear, and faster engagement, but I don't know if that's true or just marketing. Both are pretty neat, for sure.

King remains the gold standard for me for low weight and high-engagement but to be honest, I've been fine with the DT hubs that come on the last few bikes I've bought.
One-way bearing and sprag clutch are different names for the same thing as I understand it. @Westy, am I correct?

Nick

My name is Nick
Sep 21, 2001