Quantcast

I canceled my ATT wireless and...

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by Serial Midget, Jun 25, 2012.

  1. Serial Midget

    Serial Midget Al Bundy

    Rep/Likes:
    130 / 1,353
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    12,736
    Location:
    Fort of Rio Grande
    I wonder if my 10 month old LG smart phone can be used with another provider? I cancelled because of poor internet service. Are these phones proprietary? My dad uses an iPhone with burner cards he gets from Walmart phones, I'd like to do this -any advice?
     

    Please register to disable this ad.

  2. syadasti

    syadasti i heart mac

    Rep/Likes:
    64 / 291
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Messages:
    12,859
    Location:
    VT
    He likely uses straight talk, a prepaid Tracfone service they sell at Walmart. Works with ATT, T-mobile, and unlocked phones that use SIM cards:

    http://www.straighttalk.com/ShopSims
     
    #2 -   Jun 25, 2012
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2012
  3. Serial Midget

    Serial Midget Al Bundy

    Rep/Likes:
    130 / 1,353
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    12,736
    Location:
    Fort of Rio Grande
    Thanks - I will check then out!
     
  4. jdcamb

    jdcamb Tool Time!

    Rep/Likes:
    253 / 2,603
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2002
    Messages:
    15,283
    Location:
    Nowhere Man!
    Correct me if I am wrong... But even if you get a different simm Card it still operates on AT&T's GSM service. You need to find out who has better coverage in your area... Sadly in order for you to change services you more then likely need to change your phone...
     
  5. syadasti

    syadasti i heart mac

    Rep/Likes:
    64 / 291
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Messages:
    12,859
    Location:
    VT
    It depends on what frequencies the phone supports. Some models will work on various carriers and some have roaming agreements with each other (ATT&T-mobile or Verizon and Sprint - etc)

    Straight Talk is a LOT cheaper than ATT so if the coverage is poor its not as big of a waste. Its around $45/month or so (depending on how many months you prepay) for unlimited everything. You can buy a single month and test the coverage - there is no contract.
     
    #5 -   Jun 26, 2012
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2012
  6. Sandwich

    Sandwich Pig my fish!
    Staff Member

    Rep/Likes:
    68 / 829
    Joined:
    May 23, 2002
    Messages:
    15,592
    Location:
    01776
    It'll probably work on T-Mobile, since they both use GSM (VZW uses CDMA). Typically though, AT+T has better service than Tmo, at least everywhere I've ever looked. T-mo has an excellent prepaid plan though. Worked great for me as I don't talk on the phone often and never send texts, but then I decided I *needed* mobile interwebs...
     
  7. syadasti

    syadasti i heart mac

    Rep/Likes:
    64 / 291
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Messages:
    12,859
    Location:
    VT
    Nope. T-mobile uses different 3G bands so on most smartphones so you'd be stuck with piss-poor 2G data.

    ATT 3G is 850MHz/1900MHz
    T-Mobile 3G is 1700 MHz/2100 MHz
     
  8. bizutch

    bizutch Delicate CUSTOM flower

    Rep/Likes:
    4 / 8
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Messages:
    15,980
    Location:
    Over your shoulder whispering
    Just buy a cheap, used smartphone at a pawn shop that runs on whatever carrier has the best coverage in your area. Take it to the carrier and activate it.
     
  9. Sandwich

    Sandwich Pig my fish!
    Staff Member

    Rep/Likes:
    68 / 829
    Joined:
    May 23, 2002
    Messages:
    15,592
    Location:
    01776
    huh, i guess you're right. I didn't know that...but I haven't considered either in two years. Might go to tmo now that verizon is getting all weird.
     
  10. syadasti

    syadasti i heart mac

    Rep/Likes:
    64 / 291
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Messages:
    12,859
    Location:
    VT
    Sprint coverage is pretty decent, I'd take a look at them before tmo.
     
  11. BUFFALO

    BUFFALO Vigorous Giver of Reputation

    Rep/Likes:
    3 / 0
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2005
    Messages:
    149
    Location:
    Renton, wa
    A guy here at my work just signed up with Virgin. Bought one of their phones and cheap contracts. He hasn't complained about any of the service. Might be worth looking into if they are in your area.
     
  12. jekyll991

    jekyll991 Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    477
    Location:
    Belfry, KY
    www.cowboom.com sometimes has some good deals on smart phones. I believe CDMA is what you want to get for verizon/sprint and GSM for t-mobile and AT&T, but someone correct me if I'm wrong as that has happened twice before.
     
  13. jimmydean

    jimmydean The Official Meat of Ridemonkey

    Rep/Likes:
    174 / 1,525
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2001
    Messages:
    29,054
    Location:
    Portland, OR
     
  14. syadasti

    syadasti i heart mac

    Rep/Likes:
    64 / 291
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Messages:
    12,859
    Location:
    VT
  15. jdcamb

    jdcamb Tool Time!

    Rep/Likes:
    253 / 2,603
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2002
    Messages:
    15,283
    Location:
    Nowhere Man!
    We need Syadasti to work out a few more details for us. It usually takes him 3 or 4 posts before he warms up and posts something useful...
     
  16. Serial Midget

    Serial Midget Al Bundy

    Rep/Likes:
    130 / 1,353
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    12,736
    Location:
    Fort of Rio Grande
    My old contract ran out years ago with altel and was grandfathered in at ATT for 100 a month taxes included. Last month I used 11 minutes of hone time and could not access the net for more than 5 minutes at a time.

    My current phone is paid through the 11th of July so I have about 2 weeks to find something.
     
  17. Serial Midget

    Serial Midget Al Bundy

    Rep/Likes:
    130 / 1,353
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    12,736
    Location:
    Fort of Rio Grande
    Thats pretty much all I want.