Quantcast

I just got a slave hard drive.

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by mack, Nov 11, 2005.

  1. mack

    mack Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2003
    Messages:
    3,675
    Location:
    Colorado
    So I just went out and picked up a 512 RAM card and a second internal hardrive (80 gig). My question is...

    Can I choose wich files are sent to the slave hard drive? I want to transfer all the stuff on my old (master) hardrive onto the new (slave) hard drive. Then I want to throw the old one (30 gig) out and get another 80 gig drive. Can this be done? Or does windows randomly select where data is stored?

    I also wanted to let in on this kick ass deal. Comp USA 80 gig hitachi hardrive... 30 bucks with mail in rebate. :thumb:
     

    Please register to disable this ad.

  2. SkaredShtles

    SkaredShtles I love NEWCASTLE and will ONLY drink NEWCASTLE!!!!

    Rep/Likes:
    248 / 1,882
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Messages:
    46,338
    Location:
    In a van.... down by the river
    Why in the hell did you waste your time buying an 80GB hard drive? You know they come up to like 1/2 terabyte in size now........ :think:

    For the love of God - let a professional handle the file stuff. :dead:
     
  3. narlus

    narlus Eastcoast Softcore
    Staff Member

    Rep/Likes:
    16 / 21
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2001
    Messages:
    24,678
    Location:
    behind the viewfinder
    did you name the slave drive "the gimp"?
     
  4. Dartman

    Dartman Old Bastard Mike

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2003
    Messages:
    3,919
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    Installed as slave it will get assigned the next available drive letter like D: (It may bump your CD drive to E:, if you have one) and you will be able to direct which files to copy to it. Getting it to be your main boot drive will be tricky. If it was my computer I'd backup all my stuff to cd's and then install the 80g drive as primary and reinstall windows for a fresh start. There are some drive utilities to move your operating system to a new drive but they cost more than the drive did. Either way backup the stuff you want to keep.

    Mike
     
  5. johnbryanpeters

    Rep/Likes:
    242 / 2,576
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2001
    Messages:
    24,591
    Location:
    Making moss sad in New Haven, Vermont
    The base drill would be something like this:
    1) Do a full backup of your C: drive (master) to the medium of your choice.
    2) Remove the old drive and install the new one configured as master.
    3) Install the operating system. The new drive will now show up as C:.
    4) Install your backup software.
    5) Restore from the full backup you performed in step 1).
    6) (optional) Install the old drive, configured as slave, format it, use it as D:.

    J
     
  6. Wumpus

    Wumpus makes avatars better

    Rep/Likes:
    29 / 153
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2003
    Messages:
    8,170
    Location:
    Six Shooter Junction
    Personally, I would set up the new drive as a data drive and copy anything important from the old one to it and then keep using the old one for the boot drive. That way if the operating system craps out on you, you don't have to worry about it corrupting all your stuff. If you get another new drive, then set that one up as the boot and retire your 30gb drive.
     
  7. mack

    mack Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2003
    Messages:
    3,675
    Location:
    Colorado
    This is what I have done. I put all my music, videos and other important crap on the new hardrive and am just going to use the old one as my boot drive. Thanks.
     
  8. McGRP01

    McGRP01 beer and bikes

    Rep/Likes:
    4 / 0
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2003
    Messages:
    7,797
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Forgive my computer ignorance, but I have a question. Would it be possible for me to purchase a external hard drive and put only iTunes on it? Essentially a seperate hard disk with just all my music on it.
     
  9. narlus

    narlus Eastcoast Softcore
    Staff Member

    Rep/Likes:
    16 / 21
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2001
    Messages:
    24,678
    Location:
    behind the viewfinder
    yeah you can do that. not sure if you need to install the iTunes program on the C: drive or that external drive, but i don't think it really matters. just drag and drop the music folders into yr iTunes library and it should add everything.
     
  10. partsbara

    partsbara Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2001
    Messages:
    3,996
    Location:
    getting Xtreme !
    thats more or less what i did... picked up a maxtor 200G external drive and burned my CD collection (that i have here - approx 300) to it via rio music manager...
     
  11. SkaredShtles

    SkaredShtles I love NEWCASTLE and will ONLY drink NEWCASTLE!!!!

    Rep/Likes:
    248 / 1,882
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Messages:
    46,338
    Location:
    In a van.... down by the river
    Hopefully your "important stuff" is also on a CD somewhere? Don't trust a single hard drive for your important stuff. Make backup copies.
     
  12. mack

    mack Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2003
    Messages:
    3,675
    Location:
    Colorado

    By important stuff you mean porn and music, then yes. :D
     
  13. H8R

    H8R Cranky Pants

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 4
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Messages:
    13,983
    Put in the new drive on the end of the IDE ribbon cable. Make sure the jumpers are set to "cable select". This will make the new drive the "master"



    Install windows onto the master.

    Now all your old files are on your old drive, the "slave".

    Grab all the files you want to keep off of it and put them somewhere on the new drive.

    Format the old drive after a few weeks and you know you have everything off of it.

    Done.
     
  14. H8R

    H8R Cranky Pants

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 4
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Messages:
    13,983
    BTW windows will boot only from the master - your old drive will only be storage. Just make sure the jumpers are correct.
     
  15. Transcend

    Transcend My Nuts Are Flat

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2002
    Messages:
    18,062
    Location:
    Towing the party line.
    I'm running of 2 external 1/2Tb drives now. Firewire 800 rules.

    Windows XP will boot off of a secondary drive FYI. It is a pain in the ass to setup.
     
  16. mack

    mack Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2003
    Messages:
    3,675
    Location:
    Colorado
    So when i load windows onto the new drive, then grab all the files off of the old one, how do i delete the old windows off of the secondary drive? Is there a way to completely clean a drive?

    Also, what format is 'cable select' for the jumpers? Cant i just set the jumpers to master drive, or do i need to do cable select. Im asuming that cable select just means that the drive can be pluged in as either a salve or master drive, and automaticly knows by wich cable its pluged into? (gray or black)
     
  17. jonKranked

    jonKranked Press Button, Receive Stupid

    Rep/Likes:
    371 / 3,479
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Messages:
    53,271
    Location:
    media blackout
    RAID1. don't waste your time with hard drives other than WD or seagate. i've never had anything else last more than a year. my primary drive is currently a 80gig WD that is 3.5 years old, no problems.
     
  18. Transcend

    Transcend My Nuts Are Flat

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2002
    Messages:
    18,062
    Location:
    Towing the party line.
    Seriously, read up on it. If you don't fully understand it, do not screw with it.
     
  19. H8R

    H8R Cranky Pants

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 4
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Messages:
    13,983
    After you have all your files moved over to your new drive (which Windows has been flawlessly installed on I assume) just right click the old drive in "My Computer" and choose "Format". It'll wipe it clean.

    If they are standard IDE drives there will be a little diagram on the back to show where the jumpers go.

    If you aren't sure about the cable thing set the new drive to "MASTER" and the old drive to "SLAVE".
     
  20. H8R

    H8R Cranky Pants

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 4
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Messages:
    13,983
    I have two IBM (Hitachi) Deskstar drives that are going very strong at 4 years plus now.
     
  21. SkaredShtles

    SkaredShtles I love NEWCASTLE and will ONLY drink NEWCASTLE!!!!

    Rep/Likes:
    248 / 1,882
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Messages:
    46,338
    Location:
    In a van.... down by the river
    Currently I have 2 Quantum's, 2 Fujitsus, and an IBM. None is less than 4 years old.
     
  22. maxyedor

    maxyedor <b>TOOL PRO</b>

    Rep/Likes:
    21 / 240
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2005
    Messages:
    3,083
    Location:
    In the bathroom, fighting a battle
    do the rite thing and back up your porn and music to cd then throw your computer away and geta mac g5 with the 1000gb of internal hard-drive, problem solved
     
  23. Transcend

    Transcend My Nuts Are Flat

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2002
    Messages:
    18,062
    Location:
    Towing the party line.
    Deskstar's used to like to explode pretty often.
     
  24. Ciaran

    Ciaran Fear my banana

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 8
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Messages:
    9,853
    Location:
    So Cal
    Why get a toy? He needs a computer. :evil:

    Mack, just make sure you back up all the porn and mp3's. Use the 80 giger as your primary drive (C drive... OS and apps only) then get two 300+ gig drives and run a RAID 1 (mirrored) setup for all your data. Automatically backed up and tons of space for boobies. :thumb:

    And remember, as you get into really big drives it is easier in the long run to use a RAID system for back ups then to try and periodically back up to CD or DVD.
     
  25. H8R

    H8R Cranky Pants

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 4
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Messages:
    13,983
    Well like it's running fine and stuff.


    H2?
     
  26. Ciaran

    Ciaran Fear my banana

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 8
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Messages:
    9,853
    Location:
    So Cal
    I have 2 IBM deskstars that are going on 4 years now... both doing fine.
     
  27. H8R

    H8R Cranky Pants

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 4
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Messages:
    13,983
    I will say the new SATA ones are a tad noisy, I threw one in a new comp I built for my sister.

    BTW - the new Nvidia 6100 mother boards are cool.
     
  28. .:Jeenyus:.

    .:Jeenyus:. Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2004
    Messages:
    2,832
    Location:
    slc
    You is good at grammar.
     
  29. lovebunny

    lovebunny can i lick your balls?

    Rep/Likes:
    7 / 19
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2003
    Messages:
    7,242
    Location:
    San Diego, California, United States
    your not familiar with the phenomenon that is mack are you?
     
  30. Transcend

    Transcend My Nuts Are Flat

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2002
    Messages:
    18,062
    Location:
    Towing the party line.
    Oh I do, that's why i posted. When you have to ask if you can control where data goes...you shoudn't be playing with it.
     
  31. binary visions

    binary visions The voice of reason

    Rep/Likes:
    81 / 354
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2002
    Messages:
    21,633
    Location:
    NC
    I would agree wholeheartedly with that... No offense meant, but asking if Windows just randomly throws data on different drives (or, for that matter, saying you bought a "slave hard drive" which is technically wrong, there's no such thing as a "slave hard drive" or a "master hard drive", they're just drives that you choose to run in one mode or the other), means you really don't understand some underlying concepts.

    If you don't understand the underlying concepts, you shouldn't be pulling your computer apart without a step by step walkthrough or something.
     
  32. H8R

    H8R Cranky Pants

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 4
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Messages:
    13,983
    Maybe he should just do it by trial and error. Like his spelling.

    :)
     
  33. Transcend

    Transcend My Nuts Are Flat

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2002
    Messages:
    18,062
    Location:
    Towing the party line.
    nice.
    :devil:
     
  34. mack

    mack Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2003
    Messages:
    3,675
    Location:
    Colorado

    I bought it to be used as a secondary hardrive. And you guys are right, I dont really know allot about PC hardware or windows. I just needed more disk space and needed a few questions answered, and I knew there had to be a few :monkey:'s out there who knew what they were doing.
     
  35. binary visions

    binary visions The voice of reason

    Rep/Likes:
    81 / 354
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2002
    Messages:
    21,633
    Location:
    NC
    I'm not trying to dig on you, here, just prevent you from giving yourself a lot of headache. Do you have a buddy who knows about this stuff?

    If you've got a friend who knows his stuff, you'll be a lot better off. If you don't, PM me and I'll try to write you a walkthrough sometime today to avoid most of the headaches you could face doing this.