Quantcast

I need input on getting an ' 06 66RC or '06 888RC?

Discussion in 'Downhill & Freeride' started by kail, Sep 17, 2005.

1. kail

kail Monkey

Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    The bike I've been riding for the last 4 years is a Bullit with an Avalanche rear shock and 01 Monster T up front. It's been an ultra plush set up, but over the last five years my riding style has changed from a huck everything, plow over everything at mach 2 style, to more of a finesse(ish?), flowy, dirt-jumpy style, if that makes any sense. I still go out and huck some pretty big lines, but only when trannies are perfect. Most of my riding these days is on backcountry trails - which is a rarity among most downhillers these days. (That's a rant that I'll get into another time...) I want to get my bike down to the low 40 pound range, so the Monster has got to go. I've been toying with the idea of getting a new 66RC, but I don't want to be disappointed with the stiffness. I've tried one, but only for one run, and that's not really enough to get a good opinion on a fork. I didn't notice any flexiness at the time. I know a new 888RC would be really sweet, but if I could get by with a 66, I would, cause they're a pound lighter. I go down to Hanksville and Virgin, UT, once a year and do some real hucking, so I want a fork that will put up with some occasional stupidity. Thanks for any input!

Please register to disable this ad.

2. kail

kail Monkey

Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    One more thing, I'm not interested in any other forks. Only the 66RC or the 888RC. I won't go into any further detail about that. I'd go for an Avy fork in a heartbeat if they weren't so much $$$$.

3. Turd Ferguson

Turd Ferguson Monkey

Rep/Likes:
    3 / 0