Tube Smuggler
Sep 13, 2004
SF
http://www.marinij.com/marinvoice/ci_5782489

Kenneth Kelzer: Mountain biking a poor fit for a school sport
Kenneth Kelzer
Marin Independent Journal
Article Launched:04/29/2007 11:06:33 PM PDT
THE DEBATE and furor over mountain biking has come to a boil in Marin for many reasons. The conflict also has been building for years.

I am a 35-year resident and my wife and I hike on Marin trails almost every weekend. I ride a mountain bike three to four times a week for my aerobic exercise, but I ride only on paved streets and designated fire roads.

The letters and Marin Voice articles in the April 2 IJ should be a cause for alarm for all who love the beautiful open spaces of Marin. I am concerned when I read the following: that mountain biking has become a sport sponsored in our high schools; that almost all nine high schools in Marin have mountain bike teams; that the members of these teams are using public open space as practice grounds for their sport; that the spokespersons for these teams use the word "training" and do not use the word "competitive" in describing their activities; and that they are calling for the county Open Space District to provide additional trails for their sport.

All of these factors, together with the trail damage that adult bikers already have done, can only spell disaster for the beauty of our public lands in the long run. If this trend and attitude of entitlement is allowed to spread, it is only a matter of time before the trails and hillsides of Marin are scarred and violated even further than they are. Teen users are among the most courteous bikers on the trails, but what about the other bikers, including out-of-towners, who consistently abuse the trails?

We need to be realistic. We need to foresee what will happen if we allow this destructive combination of mixing competitive bike racing with public lands. We cannot allow it to continue.