Quantcast

Idiot parents! (rant)

manimal

Ociffer Tackleberry
Feb 27, 2002
Blindly running into cactus
So i'm out riding with the boy at the local (city ordained) jump park. the place is so new that the "helmets required" signs haven't been put up yet but we've been told to let people know that you must have a helmet to ride the place...pretty simple request for such a rad place. anyhoo.....10 yr old kid roles up on his huffy w/ no helmet. i politely inform him that he needs a helmet to ride here, he says "ok" and rides off. a few minutes later, the kid returns with his dad who tells me that i have no authority to tell his kid that he can't ride here.

i then inform the dad that it is not only the park's policy but STATE LAW that his kid can't ride w/out a helmet since he's under 16. the verbal judo goes back and forth and he tells me that i don't know what i'm talking about. i tell him i'm a cop; he starts saying that i'm harrassing him in my off time (even though i only mentioned the cop thing because he challenged my knowledge of the law).

long story short.....the dude storms off and says that he's going to the city to get this place torn down because its too dangerous. i follow him to his car and let him know that the city will probably laugh at him when he tells them that he's upset because his kid couldn't ride w/out a helmet.

then i told the kid i was sorry that his dad didn't care about his safety and left.

so anyway, that was my vent. dude made me so friggin mad! why couldn't he just man up and get the kid a helmet? i wish that had happened in my jurisdiction, i would have charged him w/ child endangerment, probably would have been dropped in court but he's still have the hassle of it :D

kinghami3

Future Turbo Monkey
Jun 1, 2004
Ballard 4 life.