Quantcast

if you rip a cd with iTunes...

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by grundy, Oct 18, 2005.

  1. grundy

    grundy Chimp

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Messages:
    93
    ...doe iTunes add DRM?
     

    Please register to disable this ad.

  2. BUCKET

    BUCKET Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Messages:
    369
    Location:
    Rocktown, VA
    I think that only happens if the music was purchased from the iTunes website. Here's a link to a couple of Apple support links on the DRM subject: Apple linky
     
  3. Full Trucker

    Full Trucker Frikkin newb!!!

    Rep/Likes:
    108 / 1,041
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2003
    Messages:
    5,078
    Location:
    [303]
    Actually, it has been my experience that if you burn an audio CD from iTunes, any DRM that might have been on a file is stripped. Because if you then re-import the audio CD you just burned back to mp3 or even m4a, the protection is gone.
     
  4. Tenchiro

    Tenchiro Attention K Mart Shoppers

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Messages:
    5,407
    Location:
    New England
    When you burn an audio CD, you convert all the files to .cda format and any DRM that was present will be stripped. But certain DRM schemes are setup to prevent you doing this, by either outright scrambling the signal or by randomly adding incorrect checksums to add further imperfections as you continue to make copies of that song. Which after a certain number of generations will make the recording useless.

    There is one that progressively gets worse as you play the CD and by about 50% of the way through is completely scrambled.
     
  5. Toshi

    Toshi Harbinger of Doom

    Rep/Likes:
    180 / 1,326
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    Messages:
    24,477
    no, no DRM whatsoever on songs that you rip.

    DRM is only on songs you buy from the iTunes Music Store.
     
  6. dfinn

    dfinn Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,129
    Location:
    SL, UT
    Would that only be supported by certain cd players? I've never heard of this before but I had burned a few CD's in the past with music from P2P networks and they would do exactly what you described, but only in 1 friends car, I believe it was a kenwood.
     
  7. grundy

    grundy Chimp

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Messages:
    93

    great, that's what I thought but wanted to check. thanks for the answer.

    btw, do you rip with iTunes, if so do you take the default settings? I've always ripped with EAC/LAME in the past, but thought I'd give this aac thing a try.
     
  8. Tenchiro

    Tenchiro Attention K Mart Shoppers

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Messages:
    5,407
    Location:
    New England
    I did it on my Sony with a backup I made of Paul's Boutique. I am not sure if it is built into the hardware or the CD itself though.
     
  9. Toshi

    Toshi Harbinger of Doom

    Rep/Likes:
    180 / 1,326
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    Messages:
    24,477
    i rip to Apple Lossless Codec actually. barring that i'd use 192+ kbps mp3 or aac.