Quantcast

I'm a noob.

Quanz56

Chimp
Aug 13, 2007
Minnesota
Hi all, I'm new to this here forum and I'm lookin' at getting a new bike. The one I'm looking at is an Iron Horse, anyone know anything about these guys?

LordOpie

MOTHER HEN
Oct 17, 2002
Denver
Hi all, I'm new to this here forum and I'm lookin' at getting a new bike. The one I'm looking at is an Iron Horse, anyone know anything about these guys?
Do NOT spend a lot of money on your first bike. Do buy from a reputable and respected LBS (local bike shop).

Carn75

Chimp
May 10, 2007
South Jersey
Like mentioned above,dont spend a fortune on ur first bike.Ask urself a few question,and then ask ur lbs to help.For example,what kind of riding are u going to be doing,set a budget,etc..

oldskoolbiker

Monkey
Aug 19, 2005
Alexandria, VA
Well Iron Horse makes everything from $175 Sports Authority specials, to $5000 World Cup Downhill bikes.

Avoid the Sports Authority/Dicks Iron Horse bikes. Any Iron Horse you get at an actual bike shop should be pretty good.

Why don't you tell us specifically which IH model you are looking at?

ultraNoob

Yoshinoya Destroyer
Jan 20, 2007
Hills of Paradise
yeah, I would stay away from there cheap bikes.
whatever you're smokin, I don't want any.

My starter bike was an IH Warrior SE with 5" all around. I've DH'd it, crashed it, crashed it, crashed it, epic rides, etc... Never let me down. Occasional upgrades and tweaks here and there but that's to be expected with normal use. Which model were you looking at?

Quanz56

Chimp
Aug 13, 2007
Minnesota
It's an Iron Horse Quantum, and it is one of those sports authority bikes. I can't afford any of the ones from my LBS...college is expensive. And I don't really ride very hard, most of the time i ride with my girlfriend on a lot of paved paths and I occasionally ride on some gravel and dirt paths.