Quantcast

I'm new, and I've just bought a Cannondale Chase 3. Advice.

GV1

Chimp
Sep 4, 2009
Right, I'm 24, student, from the UK.

I wanted to get into Street Jumping. Not sure if Street Jumping is a legitimate term, but it's where you freestyle on the streets. People I know call it Street Jumping.

Anyway, I just purchased a Cannondale Chase 3. I can do all the basic moves, but want to step up and start doing jumps and moves that are daring. I wouldnt say I'm good on a bike, I'm a newbie, but I have the desire to learn. Also, my balance is pretty wack atm.

So, what's the best place to learn? Are there DVD's available? I don't know anyone around my area that is into Street Jumping so I can't learn from nobody. I just have to take my bike out and practice.

I'm kinda worried about scratching up the new bike when I come off the thing, but I guess it's going to happen sooner or later.

Any advice?

Manifesto

Monkey
Aug 16, 2009
your moms basement
The best way to learn is leeching off of other riders and asking them How To's, youtube is also a great way to find out the basic steps in a trick.
Bikes are mean't to get beat up.

sunny

Grammar Civil Patrol
Jul 2, 2004
Sandy Eggo, CA
Fundamentals: http://tinyurl.com/motq3v

and

The Art of Trials: http://tinyurl.com/nurhu8

My riding improved the most one summer when I suffered an A/C (shoulder) separation. I couldn't ride for a month. All I could do was practice in the street outside my house:
trackstands - learning this helped the most
sprints (simulating a gate start)
slow tight turns in both directions

When I got back on the bike I was amazed at how my bike-handling skills improved.

The DVDs will break down the technique for you. Past that, it's just time on the bike.

zebrahum

Monkey
Jun 22, 2005
SL,UT