Quantcast

In over my head?

TN

Hey baby, want a hot dog?
Jul 9, 2002
Jimtown, CO
I am torn.
I have originally planned on building up my CX frame myself but now after much deliberation ....I dont know. Here are my issues...

Budget. I dont want to break the bank running to the shop every time I need something done (ie: headset, facing (is that what it is called?), cutting of the steerer, etc...). I have a good mechanic who will do stuff for free, but I dont want to have to rely on his generosity. Also, I know I will need tools, a work stand, etc... I know these will be things that I will use in the future, but all of my budget is allocated to the componets.

Time. I am not an experienced mechanic. I can do simple things (changing cassettes, putting cranks on, I can use an allen wrench, yada yada yada...) but I am sure that I will be working on it more than I plan too.

Wrenching skills. see above.

So, you see my dillema here. Will most shops build a bike for you if you bring a frame in & a box of componets bought elsewhere? I dont see why not as they charge you for labor.

Thanks for you insight.

ThePriceSeliger

Mushhead
Mar 31, 2004
Denver, Colorado
Most shops should build it even if you didn't buy it there. I would have them do things you can't, and then finish it off yourself just to save money, or maybe you have a friend who doesn't work there to help you out. The only thing you REALLY need a stand for is what they will be doing at the shop. I've been able to build a bike just inbetween my legs and upside down.
As long as you are going to the shop for business, I doubt they will care.
I used to ride for a shop, then I left the team for something better, and they would rip me off so bad on parts if needed, so when I got my new frame from Go-Ride, I took it in there and used their tools and left, just to kind of throw it in their face.

splat

Nam I am
Suck it up princess and build it .