Quantcast

Intense 951 opinions please

weedkilla

Monkey
Jul 6, 2008
So here's the thing.......

I can get a 951 at a reasonable price - but I've never ridden one.
Some quick background, I'm 6' 0", I've ridden a Sunday for the last couple of years and quite like it. Its a medium and I would like a longer bike. I've fitted it with a Fox rc4 and run fairly low spring weights and I like my bikes sitting low in their travel. I'm pretty much a hack - even though I've been racing for 15 years and I like a bike that is forgiving. Fast is good too :)

I've been internerding hard and obviously opinions are divided on the 951, particuarly the rising rate leverage ratio on the shock and the way it sits low in its travel.
My thoughts are that I can turf the Fox rc2 that comes as standard and fit a vivid as it is a more linear shock, and one I am happy tuning if required. I would imagine a B tune would be a good place to start - but am happy for any advice.
I also found that the 951 has very low levels of anti squat and am concerned about how it pedals.

Obviously the 951 has been out for a while and is well past the hype stage and hopefully some of you now have some balanced opinions on the bike that you are happy to share. I'm just a sucker for a bargain and dont want to swap to a bike that is not really faster

Thanks.

daisycutter

Turbo Monkey
Apr 8, 2006
New York City
from mtbr

Product Description

Initial availability in 2011. Your order holds your place in line, your card is not charged until your frame arrives and shipsTo you.This isThe newest revision ofThe proven Intense 951 frame. For 2011Theyve droppedThe "FRO" designation and gone with simply "951".Intense has incorporated many ofThe proven 951 features, but also added some specialTweaks like a lighter, hydroformed downtube and a standard Fox RC2 shock. Its made in America just like its big brother,The M9!TECHNICAL SPECIFICATIONS

Review Options: Sorted by Latest Review | Sort by Best Rating