Quantcast

ipod question

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by spam16v, Oct 27, 2005.

  1. spam16v

    spam16v Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    4 / 0
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Messages:
    288
    Location:
    Buffalo, NY
    well i got a used ipod and plugged it in ect ect got the knack of itunes and such, it asked me to update it so i did and now it wants me to plug it into the wall to update firmware and i dont have the wall adapter... am i ****ed till i get one of those? or is there a way around it. it shows a pic of the wall adapter on the screen and wont do anything. doh!
     

    Please register to disable this ad.

  2. narlus

    narlus Eastcoast Softcore
    Staff Member

    Rep/Likes:
    16 / 21
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2001
    Messages:
    24,678
    Location:
    behind the viewfinder
    not sure why you'd need the wall adapter (AC converter) to update firmware...maybe you can find one from ebay or an apple store? or post the query on ipodgarage.com or similar.
     
  3. binary visions

    binary visions The voice of reason

    Rep/Likes:
    80 / 354
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2002
    Messages:
    21,633
    Location:
    NC
    A whole lot of devices require AC power when doing a firmware update. It's the only way to make sure the device won't lose power in the middle of the upgrade. I don't know any laptop that'll let you do firmware upgrades on battery power.

    I'd try eBay first thing.
     
  4. Goddy43

    Goddy43 Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    170
    How would you update the ipod firmware if its plugged into the wall? Don't you need to download it through the net? I used the same port/usb chord to charge mine with an AC adaptor and to connect to my PC. Or am I confused...
     
  5. Konabumm

    Konabumm Konaboner

    Rep/Likes:
    12 / 67
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Messages:
    4,382
    Location:
    Hollywood, Maryland, United States
    NO, I just updated mine to 3.1 at work without it being pluged in. The reason they want you to have it pluged in is because if your Ipod juice runs dry durning the update it can really F-up the ipod.

    good luck
     
  6. Goddy43

    Goddy43 Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    170
    How old is the PC you are trying to connect with?

    I think if you have an older PC with older USB hardware the ipod won't charge itself, with the newer versions of USB it charges once connected to the PC. Can any IT people confirm this?
     
  7. spam16v

    spam16v Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    4 / 0
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Messages:
    288
    Location:
    Buffalo, NY
    i took it to work and plugged it into my buddies wall charger and 15 seconds later it was fine and jim dandy.... glad he had one. i have one comming from ebay for $0.02 and $4 shipping.....