Quantcast

is there such a thing as a "Flatland" MTB?

sean1978

Chimp
May 10, 2006
Is there a mountanbike setup thats good for BMX flatland style tricks? sorry if this is a dumb question but I'm a noob to mountainbikes..

pnj

Turbo Monkey till the fat lady sings
Aug 14, 2002
seattle
not to my knowledge. but don't let that stop you.

the idea of flatland bikes is they are small and easy to manipulate. mtn. bikes tend to be large. what exactly are you looking to do on it?

Mudpuppy

Monkey
Oct 20, 2001
Port Orchard/Not WSU
There's no mtb designed for it that I have heard of, but I would think that if anything would work some sort of a trials bike would work the best. You will still need to figure out pegs or some sort of standing platform though. It'd be pretty hard to stand on the ends of the QR skewer. :D

urbaindk

The Real Dr. Science
Jul 12, 2004
Sleepy Hollar
Seems like I saw a video of Hannah Steffens Hannah doing some sort of old school looking flatland tricks on her bike once. I don't recall what video it was however.

Aug 22, 2004
FEAR ME ^
trials is not even really similar to flatland though, i think if u want to flatland bmx is the way to go. But trails bikes r uber sweet if u get very good at it. Do what you want, who knows mix and match trials and flatland on a 24"er. Could be cool.

pnj

Turbo Monkey till the fat lady sings
Aug 14, 2002
seattle
I have a diamond back frame w/ monster mud tires and 4 inch DJ 2 forks. far from a flatland bike, but I can do many flatland stunts on it. however, if I was serious about flatland, I'd ride a different bike.

Mudpuppy

Monkey
Oct 20, 2001
Port Orchard/Not WSU
formermtboarder said:
trials is not even really similar to flatland though, i think if u want to flatland bmx is the way to go. But trails bikes r uber sweet if u get very good at it. Do what you want, who knows mix and match trials and flatland on a 24"er. Could be cool.