Quantcast

Jumps jumps jumps

bdamschen

Turbo Monkey
Nov 28, 2005
Spreckels, CA
So I've been riding for a while (1985) and have never really gotten comfortable with getting more then a foot or two off the ground. I just got a bike with some decent travel and I was thinking about starting to race DH. I'm completely comfortable in rockgradens, steep stuff, technicle stuff, trees, mud, whatever, you name it but for some reason with it comes to getting airbourne, I get a little sketched out. Watching vids from races, it looks like I'm going to have to get over my fear or more than 2 feet of air if I'm going to be competitive in DH. I've noticed that when I do get any higher, I get a gnarly lean to my left side that usually results in sticking a foot out and almost hitting my nuts on the crossbar.

Obviously for the sake of many precious seconds, and at least one of my two nuts, I'm going to have to correct this problem.

Anyone have some tips or tricks for me? How do you mentally prepare yourself for a big jump, and how do you stick the landing.

Oh oh, and how the heck do you know how much speed you need to land on the tranny of a big double?

Any advise, no matter how dumb it sounds is appreciated.

bballboy388

Monkey
Dec 4, 2004
If your right handed thats probly why your going to your left in the air cause your right arm is stronger. Anyway when i go off drops i try not to think about the landing just keep looking ahead to what is comming up. If i focus on what i need to get to instead of what im trying to get past i usually go toward where i need to go.

BIRDMAN111

Turbo Monkey
Jan 28, 2006
at school dreaming about trails