Quantcast

Kingpin upgrade kit problem

Hans

Monkey
Aug 8, 2003
Copenhagen, Denmark
I just had the replacement spring preload kit installed (by my bike shop), by it still feels crappy, i got the firm kit from manitou, and it feels impossibly stiff, I weigh 170lbs (77,5kgs), plus it builds up air pressure, is this b/c the o ring in the bottom left fork leg!? On a final note the rebound is really slow, and I've been told that the damper is some kind of press fit, meaning that it cant be re shimmed. Has anyone tried 2,5 wt oil in these forks!? I'm no mechanic so I'm basically just relaying the info i got from my shop and the danish manitou guys, so if there's anything I've got dead wrong, this is why!
Thanks.

Sir_Crackien

Turbo Monkey
Feb 7, 2004
alex. va. usa.
noe thing i hade to do it to replace the oil in the fork it rock shox oil and it feels great now. i have still have the air preload thing give me **** but the quality of travel is incredible. it seem like to me that they got a bad batch of oil or something me just me and a friend of mine had problems wth temp change until we changed the oil. also remember that you can adj the compression dampaning internally in the fork

vitox

Turbo Monkey
Sep 23, 2001
Santiago du Chili
hope this is not the case but i have noticed that the stance line and that other tw manitou line are sticky because of tolerance or material issues i dont know, they just are, thats what i have been able to notice from some customers bikes.

Sir_Crackien

Turbo Monkey
Feb 7, 2004
alex. va. usa.
vitox at fisrt i though that might have been the problem but with the kingpin it seem ti just be a lubrication problem. i took mine apart and lube the **** out of it and it felt a 1000 times better. but i still am having a air seal problem that i just can't seem to solve (i'm using the new x seal)

MisterMental

Monkey
Jul 26, 2002
UK