Quantcast

lens choices

mcrae2112

Chimp
Mar 15, 2006
Duvall
So I'm kinda new to the photo game and am looking to to get some advice. I recently got a canon digi rebel xt and am thinking about getting a new lens. I have a EF-S 18-55mm f3.5-5.6 lens that I got with the camera which is alright but it doesn't zoom very far. I'm looking to get something with a little more zoom and something that will be good for shooting up in the mountains this winter, think snow. Right now its all about shooting biking which my current lens works for but I still would like something better. Any recomendations for what I should get next? I also want to get a better flash, thinking about the Canon Speedlite 430EX, looks pretty good, reasonably priced. Any thoughts? Where is a good place to buy stuff online? Places I go around Seattle are so expensive. Any input would be awesome, thanks.

Kornphlake

Turbo Monkey
Oct 8, 2002
Portland, OR
The Sigma 18-200 zoom gets pretty good reviews and is less than $400. The Canon 70-300 IS lens is supposed to be real nice with a little more reach, if you can shoot with a tripod or have a really steady grip the 70-300 non IS lens is a little cheaper.

narlus

Eastcoast Softcore
Staff member
Nov 7, 2001
behind the viewfinder
BHphoto.com

My choice would be a 70-200 f4 at around $550. Best sports tele going (well, the f2.8 version is sweeting, but also more than twice the price).
that's a great lens, and when the new IS version of that lens is released, you may either get a price break on new ones, or find a mint used copy for cheaper.

Transcend

My Nuts Are Flat
Apr 18, 2002
Towing the party line.
that's a great lens, and when the new IS version of that lens is released, you may either get a price break on new ones, or find a mint used copy for cheaper.
I'm not sure why you'd by an F4 IS lens tho, when an F 2.8 lens is available at the same price??