Quantcast

lets talk about HT angle and rideability

jacksonpt

Turbo Monkey
Jul 22, 2002
Vestal, NY
OK peeps... edumacate me on geometry, especially HT angles. How much difference does it make for overall rideability?

I live in upstate NY... lots of roots/small rocks, and lots of hills (but no mountains)... very little flat ground. I've been riding a Yeti 575 with a HT angle around 68* for the last 7 years or so. I've also got a Surly 1x1 SS with a 120mm fork that I've spent some time on (not sure the HT angle with this fork). Both bikes have been great, and are a blast to ride.

I recently bought a Niner Air 9 (hardtail 29er) with a HT angle of 71* and have not been happy with the ride, especially when riding aggressively - the front end often "bites" into rocks/roots when my old bikes would have rolled over it. I've played around with saddle position, bar position, etc and just can't get the feel I'm looking for.

I've never paid a ton of attention to geometry - I'm a pretty average guy (height, weight, proportions), so I've never really had to... every bike I've ever had has been great "right off the shelf". The HT angle on the Niner seems to be the most likely culprit for the poor ride. From what I understand, a "racier" bike is going to have more aggressive geometry (faster, more responsive), while a "trail" bike will be a little more lax (more forgiving, for lack of a better word).

Unfortunately, I can't get any of the bikes I'm interested in to demo, so I'm pretty much forced to buy and hope, which is what I did with the Niner. Before I do it again, I'd like to have a better idea of what might get me back to the ride quality I'm used to/looking for.

Last edited:

HardtailHack

used an iron once
Jan 20, 2009