Quantcast

m1 question

Discussion in 'Downhill & Freeride' started by mxer338, Nov 13, 2005.

  1. mxer338

    mxer338 Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Messages:
    325
    Location:
    CT
    i have an 02 m1 and i was wondering if i can use a 10mm bolt through axle or do i have to use the 12mm through axle thats on it since it has verticle dropouts
     

    Please register to disable this ad.

  2. buildyourown

    buildyourown Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    4,857
    Location:
    South Seattle
    Unless somebody filed out the dropouts, you have a 10mm axle.
     
  3. Spunger

    Spunger Git yer dumb questions here

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    2,258
    Location:
    805
    If you're using QR then you have the QR adapters in the frame right now. There's 12mm ones that you can get to accept a 12mm TA hub.
     
  4. Repack

    Repack Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    6 / 0
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2001
    Messages:
    1,894
    Location:
    Boston Area
    Yes. You do not need to change anything. I've done it.

    EDIT: Misread what Spunger said. SOrry for the redundency.
     
  5. mxer338

    mxer338 Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Messages:
    325
    Location:
    CT
    well i dont have any wheels on it right now but the frame has a thru axle with it but i wanted to use my 10mm bolt through wheels.....so i can right?
     
  6. 66

    66 Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2003
    Messages:
    489
    Location:
    east of Seattle
    The dropouts with no spacers in them = 12mm.

    With the spacers you can run 10mm or QR.

    I have run all 3 ways and all work fine. bigger the better though, right?
     
  7. Spunger

    Spunger Git yer dumb questions here

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    2,258
    Location:
    805
    Hmmm.......I have spacers for both 12mm and QR. The QR one's are obvious for QR, the 12mm ones are more like thick aluminum washers. I was told this is how you run 12mm with the frame.

    I was under the impression with a M1 you had to use the spacers.
     
  8. 66

    66 Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2003
    Messages:
    489
    Location:
    east of Seattle
    I might be wrong but that is how i set up my '01 and my '02 M1's. What hub are you putting through there?
     
  9. mxer338

    mxer338 Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Messages:
    325
    Location:
    CT
    mine doesnt have any spacers, just the dropouts and and a thru axle
     
  10. Spunger

    Spunger Git yer dumb questions here

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    2,258
    Location:
    805
    I've had my Hope Bulb in QR and 12mm TA modes, both using adapters for the frame. The QR ones fit into the dropout plugs and have a narrowed end for a QR, and the 12mm are like giant thick washers/plugs almost. I just had it apart............LOL

    Email Intense if this is confusing. I am 100% sure there are QR and 12mm adapters you used on this frame. I guess you could get away with using no adapters but I dunno why you would want to, the adapters fit in the grooves in the dropouts like money.
     
  11. mxer338

    mxer338 Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Messages:
    325
    Location:
    CT
    well i dont have adapters, and the 12mm thru axle perfectly fits the dropouts, you cant push it up into the dropouts, you kinda have to put it through onside than the other its a tight fit