Quantcast

Machining a direct mount stem spacer

gemini2k

Turbo Monkey
Jul 31, 2005
San Francisco
Since we all know low bars are for noobs, I thought I'd post of pics of my recent project, a spacer for my 888 direct mount stem. Just made it out of 1/4 aluminum stock I ordered from McMaster. I'm a VERY noob machinist, plus lazy and impatient, so I just made it the easiest way possible. It brings my bar heigh to 43.6", and with a 14" BB height that becomes a pretty tall stack height. I'm debating if I should make another one and increase the bar height another 1/4. I'd have to get new bolts then as well.

Almost done

Done-ish

And because I know it gets you all wet, 16g

Installation in progress

Installed

Another angle

And a final angle.

zdubyadubya

Turbo Monkey
Apr 13, 2008
Ellicott City, MD
I'm very confused. :confused:

That stem doesn't appear to be a direct mount? How does it mount to the plate and in turn to the top crown? And it mounts with only two bolts? The idea (your idea, not Answer's) seems great but the execution seems odd to me.... With only two bolts mounting to the top crown it seems like there would be alot of bending stress on those two mounting points when you got over your front end. Maybe I'm not seeing it, but that stem just seems like its causing you more problems than helping (hence the need for a spacer).

*edit* your last two pictures aren't showing up for me.

Last edited:

IH8Rice

I'm Mr. Negative! I Fail!
Aug 2, 2008
Im over here now
I'm very confused. :confused: