Quantcast

Main Page Suggestion

shredables

Chimp
Mar 10, 2010
im new to the monkey, and i really enjoy everything the site has to offer. i find myself sitting here scoping threads every day.
however i think the main page could use a little more.. something.
maybe news coverage of events/stories with pics?

binary visions

The voice of reason
Jun 13, 2002
NC
I always worry that the news ticker might be covering up our content more than it displays it.

We do have coverage; when you hit the front page, the ticket in the middle top section actually displays all of our recent news articles. And, of course, there is the ticker at the top of the forums and the News forum if you want to see everything aggregated.

I'm still mulling over a better way to deliver content into the forums. The new version of vBulletin was supposed to deliver that, but it didn't quite meet expectations in a couple big ways (for the way I think our news delivery will work best).

Mr.Bishop

King of Beers
Jun 2, 2009
Montreal
im new to the monkey, and i really enjoy everything the site has to offer. i find myself sitting here scoping threads every day.
however i think the main page could use a little more.. something.
maybe news coverage of events/stories with pics?
Do you have any other sites you really like that do things in the manner that you prefer?

As BV stated, we're working on a big upgrade for RM right now, and we're messing around with how the homepage displays things.

Any suggestions are extremely welcome!

Mr.Bishop

King of Beers
Jun 2, 2009
Montreal
My opinion...

Articles go in the related forum and get "promoted" to news as well?
Thats something that VB4 actually does do somewhat better than current. The biggest problem here is that its really nice to have a central repository of news, so that when the program has been around for a while you can go back and look at all the old stuff. If the threads get buried in each forum that makes it tricky.